Changing to a different Apple Watch LTE.

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by FearGhost, Sep 29, 2017.

  1. FearGhost macrumors regular

    FearGhost

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #1
    Has anyone tried changing their LTE Apple Watch to a different model after enabling the LTE?

    I have decided to return my Aluminium Series 3 LTE Apple Watch and purchase a Stainless Steel Series 3 LTE instead. I have already activated the LTE with EE on my aluminium watch.

    Does anyone know what I need to do to move the LTE subscription to the new watch or do I just cancel the original and start a new one with the new watch?

    I have spoken to EE and they said that I need to unpair the old watch and then pair the new one. I started to unpair the old one but received a message on the phone asking whether to keep the plan or remove the plan. It also stated that removing the plan would not cancel my subscription and I would need to contact my carrier to do that.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #2
    Since you are switching actual devices, you should remove the plan. As indicated the plan is removed from you iPhone but the actual subscription with your Carrier EE is still active.

    Your new / replacement watch will need to be paired and Cellular setup run again.

    In case you ask "Why" not keep the plan? Your new Watch will have a different EID & IMEI pair that need to be communicated to your Carrier EE. This should be done during the Setup Cellular step and you should have a choice to reuse your existing subscription or create a new one. If you chose to reuse the existing subscription there is not a new Activation fee charged.

    Dave
     
  3. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Did you make any progress with this? I'm wondering how EE is doing with Watch swaps at the moment.
     
  4. chrismeilak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #4
    I did something similar, I had an issue with my first stainless which was setup and running on EE. I setup the new watch and it connected straight away. I then ran EE and they cancelled the first watch line. All done
     
  5. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    So you had two plans on your account? Because in theory the plan should just transfer to the new Watch.

    (I wonder if that means EE supports multiple Apple Watches should be so inclined, then... :oops:)
     
  6. chrismeilak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #6
    Yes, I had two watch lines on my account. The customer services guy just cancelled the oldest watch line and removed it from the account. I now have a different number in the my EE app to before
     
  7. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #7
    Sure I would think that EE would use the same model we have here in the US. If you have multiple LTE Watches, then each would need it's own plan.

    Dave
     
  8. FearGhost thread starter macrumors regular

    FearGhost

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #8
    I ended up phoning EE and getting put through to L2 support.

    In the end why I had to do was to remove the plan for my old watch during the unpair stage. Once that was complete I then paired the new one.

    At the cellular activation stage I was told that I already had an existing subscription with a device associated with it. I was asked if I wanted to replace or 'add another'. I chose 'replace' and was then prompted to call EE as they they needed to make a change at their end. I was already on the phone to EE and was asked what my EID was. Once EE did their magic the cellular activated on the new watch.....

    I guess this also confirms that it is possible to have more than one cellular watch for each phone, just as long as you pay for each plan.
     
  9. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    To clarify, the activation screen told you in writing to call 150? Interesting, as that implies that EE have known from the start (i.e. in the design stages) that their IMEI/EID information systems have been unfit for purpose from the start (which has been the cause of the many many 012 errors people have been having for over a week now).
     
  10. FearGhost thread starter macrumors regular

    FearGhost

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #10
    Brookzy, yes the activation screen prompted me to call 150. They were very helpful to be fair. The person I was talking to even sent me his direct email address and said to email him if I had any issues.
     
  11. Brookzy macrumors 601

    Brookzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I see. I'm going to be trying to have two Apple Watches on my account soon, but I had loads of issues with error 012 when getting my first connected so I'm not holding out much hope!
     
  12. FearGhost thread starter macrumors regular

    FearGhost

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    #12
    Good luck! Hopefully they have ironed out some of the teething issues now.
     

Share This Page

11 September 29, 2017