iPad mini Charger help - please excuse the newb q

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by knaidel, Oct 15, 2013.

1. knaidel macrumors newbie

Hello there. A friend is gifting me their used iPad mini minus the charger. I am brand new to apple and have been trying to learn the ropes but for starters I need a charger and it's hard to figure out what's going on with all the options online.

I don't want to spend any more than I have to but I also don't want to kill my device with faulty wiring or whatever. What do you suggest?

If I get a lightning-to-USB cable, can I use that with any old USB-to-plug adapter, like from a really old phone, or could it be the wrong amount of power? (Is that determined by the adapter or the cable or what?!) How can I find out how much power the iPad Mini needs and how much power various cables provide?

From what I read online I gather that nameless cheap generics are no good but Amazon or Belkin could be a go. Also, on Apple's own site, its own lightning charge cable gets lousy reviews due to poor quality.

So, in short, what should I buy to quickly, effectively, safely, and inexpensively charge up my iPad mini so I can move on to the next stage of ipad ownership?! Any suggestions where to get a good deal with quick shipping?

2. knaidel thread starter macrumors newbie

3. knaidel thread starter macrumors newbie

On yet another website I read that it isn't good to use more than a 5 watt adapter for the mini. True? Where do I get one?

Argh. I feel like such a dunce but I just want the quickest, best way to get started. Wish it came with the bleeping charger. Oh well, beggars can't be choosy. Onward.

4. TJ61 macrumors 6502a