Cheap 1tb drives on ebay (not seller)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Astroboy907, May 18, 2012.

  1. Astroboy907 macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #1
  2. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

    dlimes13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Perrysburg, OH
    #2

    That's the 12.5mm version, not the 9.5mm. They won't work in a MBP.
     
  3. Astroboy907 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #3
    I have seen multiple instances where a 12.5 is accepten in a MBP. I believe it is only on the unibody models. We shall see. :)

    Edit: My model (late 2008) has the removable battery cover. The difference i n height between the battery and hard drive is pretty noticeable, I doubt I will have trouble fitting it in there.
     
  4. Macman756 macrumors 6502a

    Macman756

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    Good luck. That won't fit.
     
  5. Astroboy907, May 18, 2012
    Last edited: May 18, 2012

    Astroboy907 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #5
  6. jbzcar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #6
    Wrong.

    Using one in mine right now.
     
  7. Astroboy907 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #7
    Thank you. :cool:
     
  8. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #8
    I would be more concerned with the poor performance of the 12.5mm 5200RPM Western Digital Scorpio Blue than fitting. The updated 9.5mm 5400RPM version has significantly better performance. The 9.5mm 5400RPM Western Digital Scorpio Blue can match some benchmarks set by the 9.5mm 7200RPM Western Digital Scorpio Black.
     
  9. Astroboy907 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #9
    How much worse is it performance wise? I didn't really want to spend $60 more for slightly better performance. I have had stock apple drives so I there probably won't be much difference, just needed storage :) anyways my CPU is probably my bottleneck in performance (it's a C2D)... Next time I get a Mac, I'll definitely go sad but right now I don't have the cash.
     
  10. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #10
    The 12.5 mm version is pretty fast. Just make sure, that the first partition is the system partition (100 GB in my case, because i install larger Adobe & development packages).
     
  11. Astroboy907 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #11
    How fast? :)
    And may I ask why it has to be the first partition? I dont really understand how a computer manages hard drive space. I assume putting that as a first partition will allow for fastest system speeds. I'd make mine 64gb, I have some adobe software and my current setup has me at about 30gb software.
     
  12. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #12
    By making the system partition the first one in disk utility, you are "short stroking" the disk. This restricts the files on that partition to lie on the fastest part of the disk. I got my 9.5mm Scorpio blue last week, and this results in a huge difference: 100MB/S read/write average on the first partition, 60MB/S on my second partition.
     
  13. Astroboy907 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #13
    Ok, thats what I thought :) (just making sure). Thats the easy part though... After that I have to move ~600gb of photos and iTunes data. :\

    Edit: How do system files link to different partitions? I mean, will the documents folder be on the main partition or would it be able to link to the other partition.
     
  14. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #14
    i prefer to keep my entire installation besides media files on the SSD, but you can add symbolic links if necessary. For example, this terminal command redirects steam to find my game files on my secondary drive:

    "ln -s /Volumes/MEDIA/SteamApps /users/riptideMBP/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/"

    where "/Volumes/MEDIA/SteamApps" is the actual file location
    and "/users/riptideMBP/Library/Application\ Support/Steam/" is the location steam thinks the files are in
     
  15. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #15
    This method works well with exception of iTunes library files. iTunes can not follow symbolic links for some reason. I keep all my files except movies on my 480GB OWC ME Pro 6G in my MBP. On my iMac I moved Pictures, Movies, and Downloads to the hard drive because the SSD is only 240GB. If you symlink these special folders you will lose the icon, so it's best to create the new directory, copy and paste the special directory icon to the new directory, delete the original directory, then symlink to the new directory.
     
  16. jbzcar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #16
    The icon isn't that important. :confused:
     
  17. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #17
    Oh, for itunes you just tell itunes where the new library is
     
  18. Astroboy907 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #18
    Lol, I cant tell what you all are saying! :)
    I guess I dont know much terminal code.... C I have a basic grasp of, and HTML I know, but not terminal.. (unix, whatever you call it)

    Basically just if I do the partition, can I have the downloads, sites, etc folders on a different partition without OSX doing backflips trying to figure itself out?
     
  19. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #19
    That's true if you move the entire iTunes library. If you move just the movies, apps,etc. iTunes breaks with symlinks (ln -s).
     

Share This Page