Cheap 4K 60HZ support for cMP AMD 7870

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacVidCards, May 20, 2014.

  1. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #1
    I want to confirm that anyone who wants their Asus/Sharp 321 4K display running at 60HZ can use an AMD 7870 to do so.

    This one is flashed and modded to run PCIE 2.0 at 5.0 GT/S but I imagine it would do this without modding.

    Sadly, the flashed ones only show boot screen on MDP if both ports populated. Boot screen via DVI is good, and I think HDMI too, not sure.

    Will keep working on them.

    BTW, these are Pitcairn cards, not the "Tahiti Lite" ones, still can't find 5.0 switch on those.

    FWIW, I imagine that el cheap 7770 will do 4K @ 60 Hz as well, will update if anyone cares.

    Pretty funny when I consider my visit to Grove Apple store on Saturday. The iPad sellers there had nMP hooked up with HDMI and running at 30 Hz, pretty silly.

    I was also able to use "Display Menu" app to enable HiDPI mode. Clear and bright, very nice.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    There's been so much debate about weather or not the 7970 cards are safe to run with internal power only. Would this card be any different, and would this be much of an upgrade from the 5870.
     
  3. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    The official Sapphire 7950 from AMD will DEFINITELY work for 4K and run on existing power.

    I think they are still available.

    Always nice to support the official vendors when possible.

    The 7870 is currently good for people who don't mind no boot screens.

    We will probably offer a flashed one soon, but not certain yet.
     
  4. pertusis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Will the 7970 work for 4K at 60 Hz? Also, what is the issue with internal power and the 7970. This is what I'm running, and I wasn't aware there was a debate I haven't had any problems thus far...
     
  5. asus321 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    #5
    Hi,

    I also have an ASUS321Q, worked fine in 4K/60Hz with a 7970 (EFI) & 10.9.2

    BUT I lost the 4K/60Hz ability with 10.9.3 :mad:
    Are the screens from 10.9.2 or 10.9.3?
    I've heard something about a firmware update for the ASUS321. Which version do you have?
    Will the orig. 7950 Mac Edition work with the Asus in 4K/60Hz & 10.9.3?
    What is with the R9 280 cards?

    Thanks!
     
  6. MacVidCards thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    let me know where the firmware version is listed and I will check.

    I have not updated it, 4K 60 Hz working in 10.9.3 but I have been doing system mods trying to turn on for Nvidia cards.

    I have a feeling that Apple has deliberately crippled most card's ability to do in OSX what they do with ease in Win 7/8.
     

Share This Page