Cheap data only options for unlocked 3GS

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cacophony555, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. cacophony555 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I rarely use a cellphone, so haven't been able justify spending $70/month on an iPhone. Currently I just use an AT&T "pay as you go" (prepaid) GoPhone, which costs me $25 every 3 months (to add minutes). But I love the iPhone and really value internet connectivity everywhere so I've always lusted after the idea of the data only iPhone plan.

    My girlfriend has a 3GS (with iOS 4.0) and can upgrade to the iPhone 4 for only the cost of the phone ($199-$299) + $18 upgrade fee. I'm assuming if she does this she'll be able to keep her old 3GS.

    Can I just put my sim card in her old 3GS and use it as my prepaid phone? (the sim card does say 3G on it if it matters). Do I have to jailbreak or unlock it for this to work?

    Also, is there any way to get a working data plan as well? In my Go Phone account I see an option for "Data 100MB" for $20. Is this the best option for me? I would gladly pay $20-$30/month for a decent data plan. 100MB seems a bit small, though...

    What exactly are my options here?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Yes that and a smaller data package are the only options for prepaid AT&T sims.
    You can also try getting a microsim for an iPad 3G with data only and use an adapter to use the sim in the 3GS for a data only plan.
     
  3. cacophony555 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #3
    Thanks. What if I go with T-Mobile? I see they list a webconnect plan for $25 (200 MB). They also list a SmartPhone unlimited web and email for $40/month. Are those both options as well if I get a T-Mobile sim and do a jailbreak?
     
  4. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #4
    You are aware you can get a data plan for the gophone sim for $19 a month for 100 MB? While tmobile has many data plans keep in mind they may not include any minutes and may even require you purchase a voice plan.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    I'm not positive on the prepaid Tmobile plans but you will only get edge data. No 3G speeds on Tmobile USA.
     
  6. cacophony555 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #6
    Anything special I need to do to make this data option from AT&T work? Or do I just need to purchase it?
     
  7. atrac7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    #7
    But would this mean you would have no voice plan then? I was thinking about this before, getting the data from the ipad micro sim.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, pretty much.
    It would be like an iPod touch with data even away from wifi.
     
  9. cacophony555 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #9
    That would be great, but where can one get an ipad microsim? I looked on ebay and didn't see anything obvious. Also, any way ATT would be able to tell and disable?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    I think u can get one at AT&T. Tell them to set it up and that you left your iPad home.
    You might have to edit the apn
    Settings on the iPhone for the iPad data package.
    I heard many people using it like so I doubt they will disable it.
     
  11. cacophony555 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #11
    Going to the Apple store shortly to get girlfriend's phone upgraded to iphone 4 ... anything special I need to tell them regarding the old phone? (I want to ensure it's in the right "state" if that matters)

    Also, can I (or should I) do a restore of the phone to the factory settings prior to putting my sim card in ? Obviously I want to get rid of all her data and settings, but I also don't want to mess anything up.

    Thanks.
     
  12. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #12
    In my case to get it to work I had to use the apple iphone configuration utility program to generate a config file which I installed to the iphone over usb. The 3g would not connect otherwise. I'm sure att does this to get you into a contract when using the iphone specifically.

    I do not know if you can purchase data as a stand alone item.


    I also use T-mobile both prepaid and postpaid. I have always been told that you can not have a data plan on prepaid (they claim they can't figure out how to bill you).
     
  13. Kayan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    CA
  14. cacophony555 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    #14
    Everything went flawlessly. Thanks for the help everyone!
     

Share This Page