Cheap SMS for iPhone users.

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by lackofcolour, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. lackofcolour macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have recently updated one of my applications (EirText Pro) to provide cheap SMS support for the following VoIP providers:

    - blueface.ie
    - voipcheap.com
    - voipcheap.co.uk
    - internetcalls.com
    - 12voip.com
    - lowratevoip.com
    - smsdiscount.com
    - voipdiscount.com
    - freecall.com
    - voipbuster.com
    - dialnow.com
    - nonoh.net
    - smsListo.com
    - sipdiscount.com
    - calleasy.com
    - voipraider.com
    - voipwise.com
    - justvoip.com
    - poivy.com
    - voipbusterpro.com
    - sparvoip.de
    - voipstunt.com
    - netappel.fr
    - webcalldirect.com

    If you have an account with one of these providers, feel free to use one of the following promo codes to download the app for free:

    K3KF6ATHAHME
    LTPY7JLH34ER
    64NRHPYAT7K7
    6H4MKTP699WT
    XT3YWRFAKWWJ
    MAR6ELAPXRXY
    KMJ7MP4WHRRM
    EMRRJWHPTY4A
    4E3E979WKXTW
    NJYPAPLRJH9E
    MEEEM3RJWYLP
    KL6EWFJMNNPR
    MNNAMK9J7MX4
    MMTPJJK66MW4
    HRKHXLXF69JH
    AP64WRNRMN9E
    AJTPRAMYKKT4
    EL76PY7PPWEK
    7RFJMHFRK97Y
    TERH9TYTYLXP

    If you like the app, please rate and/or review it on the App Store.

    For more information, visit http://www.vinnycoyne.com

    Thanks,

    Vinny.
     
  2. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Is this a free service Vinnie, i.e. no-one has to subscribe to use the codes?

    Otherwise I'll have to ping it as commercial spam I think.
     
  3. Stampyhead macrumors 68020

    Stampyhead

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
  4. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #4
    Well, the app is free to download with the codes.

    But the user buys credit with their own VoIP provider (with whom I have no affiliation).

    If you have to spam the thread that's ok, just trying to get rid of some of these codes ;)
     
  5. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #5
    it's called the MobileMail.app maybe you've heard of it? :p

    just kidding. i use Mail to text and have not encountered ANY problems whatsoever... just number@text.att.net


    and i'm sure you can find different carrier address' on MRoogle

    just save that e-mail address to the numbers you regularly text and you are golden!

    if you run 3.0 (hehe) or have clippy installed - you can copy and paste the email part and save a lot of time - i had to do it the hard way (before i jailbroke) and type it ALLLL in on everything.
     
  6. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
    Not every provider has an email to SMS gateway. Providers in the USA and EU do (for the most part), but not all of them do so this could be useful to some people.
     
  7. pik. macrumors 6502

    pik.

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Bologna/Corfu/Paris
    #7
    Vinny i use Voipwise but i do not know how to download the app for free for my iPhone....:confused:

    can you tel me?
     
  8. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #8
    No problem!

    You need a US iTunes Store account.

    Log in and click on Redeem in the Quick Links section on the right-hand side.

    Enter one of the codes listed above.

    You should be allowed to download the app is the code hasn't been already used.
     
  9. pik. macrumors 6502

    pik.

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Bologna/Corfu/Paris
    #9
    thanks anyway but i dont have a us account....:cool:

    very kind of you anyway!
    do you know if it works on iPhone 3.0?
     
  10. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #10
    No, the message sending code is a bit screwy on 3.0. I'm working on a fix that will be compatible with both 2.x and 3.0.
     
  11. pik. macrumors 6502

    pik.

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Bologna/Corfu/Paris
    #11
    thank you for the reply I ll definetly use it in future and I ll buy it!;)
     
  12. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
  13. pik. macrumors 6502

    pik.

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Bologna/Corfu/Paris
    #13
    make sure you inform us if is going to be 3.0 compatible!:p
     
  14. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #14
    It will be with the next update!
     
  15. pik. macrumors 6502

    pik.

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Bologna/Corfu/Paris
    #15
    I purchased yesterday the App....;)

    I didn t know I should have an Irish or something nymber to use it!:confused:

    I thought that by entering my voipwise account ids i could send an sms...

    then i managed to do it but the receiver of the sms sees on her screen my voipwise id and no my number (selected as sender number on voipwise).

    is it possible to change that and to make the receiver see the number by me selected on the voip servise?:D

    thanks a lot...

    very good app that is but wish you could solve my little problem...:rolleyes:
     
  16. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #16
    Thanks! And no, you don't need an Irish number, but you do need to enter a valid number (requirement by the VoIP providers).

    EDIT: I see the issue. It's a bug. If a box pops up asking you to enter a number when you go to send a message, just enter 1234567890. I'll fix that in the next update.

    When you send an SMS from the voipwise website, does it show up as from your number or from voipwise? I'm testing it here and it's coming from my own number. You might need to verify your mobile number on their site first.
     
  17. pik. macrumors 6502

    pik.

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Bologna/Corfu/Paris
    #17
    maybe is the matter tha i use 2 numbers but where your app says number between id and password in the settings screen if i put the prefered one come out the id all the time!:rolleyes:

    going to try again!:p

    thanks a lot for the support!;)

    very kind of you !
     
  18. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #18
    You're welcome!

    Also, make sure that all numbers use the International Dialing Code:

    e.g. Greece +30XXXXXX, USA +1XXXXXXXX, UK +44XXXXXX, etc.
     
  19. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #19
    I have more codes to give away. PM me if you're interested.

    Vinny.
     
  20. lackofcolour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #20
    I have a few more codes to give away to correspond with the 2.0.2 update:

    Enjoy!

    R9R7Y3KJRP7P
    AX3FWWJM6WWF
    HXRM6YXKEFJA
    RT7R7XYNN9HA
    EFPHAT4K4AER
    36R646YNXTHM
    9EXYA3JFW76N
    J6FEWFNFRFMH
    J3ET9H9TMX6E
    WTEKR9JREWER
     

Share This Page