Cheapest Mac to learner program with?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Bheleu, Mar 24, 2011.

1. Bheleu macrumors 6502

I love the iPad design and I would like to write some programs for myself and daughters, possibly some things for work too. I do not want to spend a lot of cash and would prefer something portable that I could plug into a larger monitor whenever I wanted to do any real work/programming. I do not mind code taking some time to compile, but I want it to work for any/all programming tools too. What can you recommend? I know CL is an option but would I be missing out on some of the requirements for software? OS version for instance. What should I look out for if I go that route, as I assume used is better than new if on a budget. If I ever develop anything worthwhile I know I will be able to upgrade.

Thank you!!! ahead of time for any recommendations.
    PS I have some knowledge concerning programming on the PC; therefore, with a medium to work, patience and a stubborn will, I hope to be a success.

2. jnoxx macrumors 65816

jnoxx

Easy imo, get an old Mac Mini (has to be Intel processor).
    I learned how to program on that, for like 200$, with like 2 gigs 667 mhz ram, and normal iphone apps are no problem on that :)
    or get a busted a macbook (screen broken), and hook it up to the screen.
    Also, there are lots of topics already on this forum about it..
    So the question has been answered like gazillion times too

3. 1458279 Suspended

Watch out for CL, there's some real trash out there. I've seen people pawning off stuff with problem to unsuspecting buyers and there's not much you can do about it.
    I'd concider the Mini and use your own monitor.

4. JustSomeDude macrumors regular