cheapest plan

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by nownot, Jun 1, 2008.

1. nownot macrumors regular

ok so when the new iphone hits the streets im going to switch from verizon to at&t and start paying my own bill. What im looking at is the cheapest monthly way to go. I talk more than 450 min and pretty sure I use more than 200 text/pic messages a month. Looking at the plans it looks like im going to have to go with 79.99 + 15 to bump up the txt. So 95$, but this cant be the cheapest, thats alot of dough just for cell phone. If anyone has any ideas pls share. Also might want to get the family plan with my brother, any ideas there? This just seems like its going to cost more than it should, but thats the way most bills end up like I guess. Thanks for any input.

p.s. i am a student and employed part time by the university, not sure if i get a discount though

2. neven macrumors 6502a

Sounds about right, unless you want to chance it and unlock the phone for a different provider (my 2c: I wouldn't)

It sure is. Except you're not getting just a cellphone. You're getting a smartphone with unlimited data usage and unlimited text messaging.

The cheapest plan is $59.99. The reason it's the cheapest plan is you get 450 minutes and 200 text messages :)

3. nownot thread starter macrumors regular

wow i did some research and my university has a partnership with at&t so i get 12-15% discount on plans ....... YES!!!!!!!

and this works for students and employees.

4. Corbet macrumors member

Can't be used with an iPhone plan.

5. JBaker122586 macrumors 65816

I thought they changed this?

6. viggen61 macrumors 6502

1) If you talk more than 450 min/mo, is it all "daytime" calling? If any of it is between 9PM & 6AM, or 9PM Fri to 6AM Mon, that's all Nite/Weekend, which you get 5 thousand minutes of with the low plan.

2) If any of the people you regularly call are also AT&T Mobile users (you'd have to ask them), those calls are free...