Check this beastmaster I ordered for Time Machine and video and music and stuff

Discussion in 'iMac' started by OverSpun, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. OverSpun macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #1
  2. MikieMcBikie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #2
    nice...can I have some of your money?????

    joking, looks like you will be screamin with that system man, congrats! Now THAT's how you future proof folks lol
     
  3. OverSpun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #3

    LOL. I need the machine for film video, and second for work also. ;) My macbookpro isnt fast enough for final cut , so this will be better.
     
  4. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
  5. advres Guest

    advres

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Uhhh FCP will run perfectly fine doing full HD on any MBP ever made. Sorry, but you just aren't correct here.
     
  6. tigereat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #6

    I'm just curious why you have ordered the iMac with 2TB +SSD if you know that the you will change it with the one from newegg?

    Should It be better if you just ordered your iMac with 1TB + SSD and switch the 1TB to the 2TB? :confused:
     
  7. MikieMcBikie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #7
    ^ missed the enclosure lol

    cool OP, glad you are using it for work, not just going into debt :p

    i hope you have time later to post some impressions with that setup :apple:
     
  8. MikieMcBikie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #8
    ANY MBP ever made? Sorry, have to disagree with you here. and i think the point is NOT to wait over night for renders.... could be wrong tho :)
     
  9. advres Guest

    advres

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Yes, any MBP ever made. I worked with DVCPRO HD1080 timelines on a 1.25 G4 powerbook all the time a few years ago. I also did all the After Effects work from that machine for a feature length movie. It wasn't ideal, but it could handle it.

    I am sure that is the case. But with enough RAM you can reduce render time. FCP does not utilize any other cores but one. The fact of the matter, is I could cut an HD tv program just as fast on a macmini as the top of the line octo-core. The ONLY thing the octo would best it at (IN FCP mind you) is the renders and exports, but in reality, that is such a small amount of the time compared to actual editing. Once you get into After Effects and using other apps sure the imac would smoke the mbp, but saying it "can't handle it" is being disingenuous.
     
  10. ecks618 macrumors 6502

    ecks618

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    Your point is valid as apple charges $150 for the extra 1TB, but for someone that either needs the extra space or is already spending $4K+ on a new machine its a small price to pay to have everything completely maxed out.
     

Share This Page