Checking MBP temps in Windows?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by klymr, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #1
    How can I do this? I'm running a 3D design program that is pretty taxing on the computer and right now the fans are running at hyper speed. I am wondering, how can I check to make sure it's not getting too hot? Could this be causing some permanant damage?
     
  2. klymr thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    And that helps me how? All the keys are working fine. I don't get what you are driving at.
     
  3. triddent222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere interesting
    #4
    I was hoping you would do a bit of research on your own...Anyways, on the Icon on the windows Task Bar (next to the clock) Right click > MacBook Settings. It will let you modify Fan Speed, Light Sensor (for MBP), Backlight, etc...
     
  4. torpy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney + Los Angeles
    #5
    Input Remapper actually disabled the handy bootcamp auto-backlighting for me with no option to get it back last time I tried, wouldn't recommend it..

    Rather, check out RMClock (http://cpu.rightmark.org/products/rmclock.shtml), with a little fiddling around it let me display a little temperature monitor in the taskbar, no fan speeds though..
     
  5. agore macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    #6
    Instead of using Boot Camp, run your application in virtual. I do this all the time with SQL Server and MS Visual Studio in Parallels.
     
  6. oYx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #7
    didn't try this on a mac though..

    http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

    edit: speedfan may sound like an app that controls your fans only, but i use it mainly to monitor temperatures.
     
  7. triddent222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere interesting
    #8
    In order to use 3D design applications (which the original poster expressed his/her desire to do so), you'll need as much juice from your graphics card as possible (3DsMAX 9 wouldn't run on Fusion, for instance). Unfortunately, Vmware/Parallels are not really efficient with 3D graphics (I am not sure, but I think they only support up to DirectX 7?). Best bet for the OP is boot camp.

    I have yet to find any issues with Input Remapper, but whatever the OP decides, please do let us know, help us help others =].

    It really depends. The Core2Duo chip on MBPs are designed to work normally up to 80C (don't quote me on this though...). Will it cause long term damage? Possibly. Heat makes the internal components expand, and when it cools off, they shrink back to their original size. Now, I'm no trying to scare you or anything, but constant temperature changes can damage your logic board overtime. Do remember: this is a laptop, as powerful as it might be, it is not advisable for you to use extremely demanding applications on it.
     
  8. klymr thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #9
    They won't allow the program to run that I use. I have tried to use them. The good thing is, when I run the program without the external monitor hooked up, it doesn't get as hot.

    I guess I'll probably be putting that program on it later today.
     
  9. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #10
    Can't see you mentioning this anywhere earlier, if you're using a bigger monitor/more than one monitor the overall graphics processing is increased, this would add heat and thus need more cooling.
     
  10. klymr thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #11
    Yeah, sorry. I was mostly wanting to know if there was a way to check the temps out. As soon as they fix/setup the other computer at work by moving/installing all the files on it I can get the network cable back to my machine at work so I don't have to use my computer set up this way. Yet another reason to hate Windows. They have been having problems getting it working, so I sit at my desk using my laptop instead of the Dell sitting here next to me. The program has to be activated/deactivated over the internet, so I can't activate it on the Dell. Oh well, it should all be over after this weekend I hope.
     
  11. klymr thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #12
    I found this handy program here. It gives all sorts of readouts. My "core" is running at 153 F (67 C). I guess by "Core" it is monitoring the video card chip. The two Intel core's are reading at 113 F. You can adjust the "Warning" level of each part (HDD, Both cores, and video card, etc.). So, what is a safe running temperature?

    Oh, BTW, It doesn't give me a reading on the fan speeds, etc. I think I can live without that though.
     

Share This Page