Chess Freezing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rtalex, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. rtalex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    #1
    I have a new 2.6 MBP with Leopard and I decided to try the chess game. It is great until it locks up on me. It gets stuck on "blacks move" and it seems to happen every time I am chasing the King. Sometimes I can save the game, close the program, and open it again then it works. Sometimes it just doesnt have an effect and stays frozen. Is this happening to other people? I found a similar issue by searching on google, but no help.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    If you create a new user account, does it still crash there? If it doesn't then find a file named com.apple.Chess.plist in the Preferences folder on the original user account, and drag it to the Desktop whilst Chess is closed.
     
  3. oligore macrumors member

    oligore

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #3
    It's happening to me too. Whenever I force a black piece into a place where it cannot do anything to stop itself get taken, it seems to freeze. The program it self does not freeze just the AI, I can still get move hints, start a new game etc. It has happened multiple times on different difficulties.
    Maybe Chess has gained self awareness and doesn't want to loose :D

    BTW Im running 10.5.1
     
  4. rtalex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    #4
    This is exactly what is happening to me and it is very frustrating.
     
  5. rtalex thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    #5
    i was really enjoying playing chess too, i got the idea from my coworker next to me who is always playing it on his Toshiba with Vista....his never freezes...i really hope a fix for this comes out.
     
  6. erandall38 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
  7. jumpinjoe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #7
    Try downloading the freeware sigma chess for mac.
     
  8. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    since about two months ago when they released the new SR Macbooks

    you can also get an option for a 250gb harddrive
     
  9. WhySoSerious macrumors 65816

    WhySoSerious

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #9
    whoa...people actually play chess on their MBP's?
     
  10. nate13 macrumors 6502

    nate13

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    #10
    thats the improvement of leopard: a emotional OS. if its losing, it will throw a fit and freeze. it shows us humans just cause we pay for it, doesnt mean we own it.
     
  11. BlazePi13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #11
    Did anyone figure this one out yet? I'm having the same problem :(
     
  12. Osprey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far, Far Away
    #12
    Yes and swear at them too! I should know because my husband is playing right now and I can tell how the game is going just by listening to what swear word he is using at the moment! Eeegads:rolleyes:
     
  13. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #13
    I think it must be because of the new SR platform. It's hardly enough to power the demanding software of Chess. Apple should have thought of this.

    10.5.2 = deleting Chess and installing Checkers.

    - "So are you happy with your 2000 $ laptop? Do you feel that your usage needs are satisfied?"
    - "No, Chess freezes."
    - "Wha?"
     
  14. Andrew275 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #14
    Mine freezes too, usually seems to happen when I'm about to win.
     
  15. cbgriffin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #15
    Here too

    It's freezing for me too, in the same situation.
     
  16. JSpence macrumors regular

    JSpence

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #16
    lol Same here! I have played about 20 matches, because about half have frozen on me. But I like chess on my MacBook =]
     
  17. i0rion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    #17
    Chess Freeze

    Yes, lots of people same problem. Me too. Almost every game!
     
  18. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #18
    Since August 2007
     
  19. Joinmycult macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #19
    Aaaaawww yeah

    Turn off "Allow Player to Speak Moves" in "preferences"
    Turn off "Speak computer Moves" and "Show Last Move In title" in "preferences"
    and the most important of all - This is what really does it - "When you select "new game"
    instead of using "human vs. computer" use "computer vs. human."
    You don't get to go first but at least you get to finish a game. Now get back in there, stop cursing at your screen and show Mac who's boss!
     
  20. mobius32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #20
    Freezing Chess

    okay, my imac's (3 months old) chess program freezes. the fix suggested by one of the earlier posts did nothing. it's kind of funny in a way b/c it always freezes when i'm puttin' a hurtin' on it :D but it is rather annoying and makes me not want to even bother. anyone have any other suggestions on a fix?
     
  21. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #21
    This is ridiculous. I'm on 10.5.4 with my 24" iMac and it still does this. I'll try the workaround posted above.
     
  22. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  23. jdikman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #23
    Better Solution to Chess Freezing

    All you have to do to unfreeze is 4 very quick steps, none of which requires rebooting or adjusting the level of difficulty: (1) under "game" menu click "save game"; (2) under "apple" icon, click "force quit" and then choose to force quit "chess"; (3) reopen chess by clicking the chess icon; and (4) when a new game appears on the screen, just click on the "game" menu, then choose "open" game, selecting the "saved" game. Your old game which has been saved will then open and immediately make the next move. Temporarily moving the difficulty level to fastest and rebooting also works but this method does not require rebooting or adjusting the difficulty level.
     

Share This Page