Chimes!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MUDCRABS, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. MUDCRABS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #1
    On start up I seem to have misplaced the Start up chime?
    Changed nothing .. buggered if I know where it went :eek:
     
  2. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #2
    Setting the system volume setting when you have no external speakers or headphones plugged in, sets the startup chime volume. Zero volume = no chime.
     
  3. MUDCRABS thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    #3
    Did a PRAM reset and it's back, not a lot of settings needed altering back to what they were... God, I love my Chime in the morning :D
     
  4. adamneer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    in 10 years of Mac ownership I've never known this. I've always just assumed the volume is just a quirk of each particular machine! The iMac I just got yesterday has an incredibly loud startup chime, so this is valuable information indeed. (I always have my computers plugged into nice speakers so I've never had enough experimentation to realize this was an option)
     
  5. Chippy99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    #5
    Cool :) Glad to be of assistance.

    Merry Christmas!
     

Share This Page