chinking noise from my trackpad

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hupdehup, Oct 25, 2010.

1. hupdehup macrumors newbie

hi all,am a complete newbie to all things mac, just got a span new 15' mbp, i have started to notice a little barely audible "chinking" sound when using the trackpad or keyboard. is this normal? anything to worry about? just having spent a lot of money id rather put any problems right at the start before they get any worse. apologies if this seems like a silly question. hope to hear from someone soon, thanks

2. aeboi macrumors 65816

aeboi

3. hupdehup thread starter macrumors newbie

sorry i should add that this sound is very random and happens sporadically
    thanks again

when i say chinking its a high pitched noise, very short, a little like something is a bit loose, also get it if i apply a little pressure to the area around the trackpad

4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

Sounds are hard to describe. Does it sound like the noise is coming from hardware pieces moving, or a software generated noise? How loud is it compared to say your own keystrokes?

5. hupdehup thread starter macrumors newbie

definitley sounds like hardward moving, as for loudness its barely audible when listening to music etc, not as loud as my keystrokes, just a little click every now and again

6. randomerratum macrumors 6502

I know what you mean.
    Mine does the same. I think it's actually the hard drive protection thing locking and unlocking... basically, MacBooks will lock up and "stow" some of the more sensitive mechanical components when it senses a tip or vibration. This is so if your MBP is knocked off a table, your hard drive won't be damaged by moving parts when it hits the ground.... or something like that.

I think using the trackpad "unlocks" it but sometimes just a tap of the finger on the body is enough vibration for it to "lock" ... or something like that. i'm sure someone else could explain this better.