Choosing a display?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by .JahJahwarrior., Jan 6, 2008.

1. .JahJahwarrior. macrumors 6502

I am interested in getting a bigger monitor. I believe I am using a 17" LCD, from Westinghouse. I know it's an LCD from Westinghouse, and I'm fairly certain it's a 17". It's a square. I want a rectangle :) My brother got, what I believe is a 22" Samsung, and it was very nice to use over the break, when I had to use his PC for UFRaw.

So, I'm thinking about getting a bigger, better monitor for my macbook. But here I see all sorts of people splitting hairs over exactly which letter of the alphabet is last on their monitor, and whatnot, based on what LCD panel is in it.

Is there a list somewhere of monitors that shows what is crap and what is not? I'd like the cheapest thing I can find that isn't a piece of junk. I am a photographer, so a good monitor is important, but whatever it is will probably be on par with this two year old Westinghouse, right? If I could figure out which exact model number from this or that brand I want, (you know, the XYZ2000 or the XYC2000, even though both are called the same thing on the box?) I'm perfectly willing to buy used.

Basically, where is the "idiots guide to monitor purchases" ?

2. bjett92 macrumors 6502a

Well can you wait a few days. It's rumored that apple might update their cinema displays at MW. I would hold off until then to see if apple brings out anything.

A lot of people are fans of dell and HP monitors. I personally am looking to buy one for my MacBook as well, but I'm waiting until MW for a cinema display.

3. timestamp macrumors 6502

If you are a photographer you want to go with at least a modern PVA panel and more so an IPS panel if you are serious.

Here is a nice database: http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/, scroll down to the monitor panel search. They also have guides as well.

Here is a decent breakdown of LCD tech: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1039222