Choosing my 15'' MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PurpleShaman, Jul 3, 2010.

1. PurpleShaman macrumors member

hey fellas,

I'm planning on getting a 15 inch MBP very soon, and I was having a bit of trouble deciding which one I should settle on. I'm a college student that does a good amt of laptop work in classes on battery. on top of that I game a decent amt (Starcraft 2, MW2, ect...nothing too hardcore) and I do a good bit of work with music programs like Logic Pro and Protools. Here are some things I'd appreciate advice on:

1: the high res upgrade. I've seen a couple of high res screens, and it just seems like the texts become so small. I've heard that enlarging the texts make them look bad? Also, will gaming on high res essentially reduce the quality and fps? As for videos and pictures, i have to admit they look better than the 1440 standard screens!

2: which 15'' gpu/cpu should i choose? Is there that big of a difference between the 256 graphics and the 512? I've read that the 512 really only makes a difference when you hook it up to an external. Also, is the i7 that much stronger than the i5? I've also heard things about the i7 being rough on the battery.

3: RAM. I was curious as to how much of a difference an 8GB boost would be? Will a 8GB low end i5 perform better than a 4gb i7? I know that some applications and softwares require more CPU power, but what can the 8GB upgrade get me?

Currently, I'm looking at around a $2000 budget, and that would get me the stock i7 book with my student discount. If I go with the low end i5, I could essentially go with an 8GB upgrade and maybe even squeeze in a hi res upgrade.

What do you guys think?

thanks!

2. MikeinJapan macrumors regular

1)Yeah I agree that the normal screen is better and my i7 should be here soon with standard res screen. The high res is nice but I would rather have the comfort when reading. Hi-res will reduce FPS for sure.