Choosing the right configuration for the new MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Ebrehe, May 14, 2010.

1. Ebrehe macrumors newbie

Hi,

Finally, I'm too tired of slowing down of Windows OS systems and constantly exposing to USB viruses. So I've decided to buy new unleashed Macbook Pro series.

I'm a research engineer. My job often requires dense calculations with MATLAB. And I also use Simulink environment frequently, to make simulations. So basically, I need high calculation capacity. Also office stuff for writing reports about that calculations and preparing presentations. Other than this, I may occasionally watch movies, that's all.

Before listing my "possible" configurations I want to ask another thing. In my country Apple products are very expensive and tomorrow a friend of mine traveling to States so he'll buy to me. But I don't know the process here. Whether he should go to BestBuy or Apple store? Then if he give the configuration I choose, then when will it be ready? He will stay only a couple of days and if it takes more than this, it means I'm stuck with the pre-configured 2199$ machine.

Anyway, my max. limit is 2500$'ish :). So I really want to take your opinions about whether I spend this approximately 300$ on upgrading screen or RAM or HDD.

Config 1(Pre-configured Device)
    # 2.66GHz Intel Core i7
    # NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M with 512MB
    # 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    # 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    # 15-inch Glossy Widescreen Display
    2199$

Config 2
    # 2.66GHz Intel Core i7
    # 8GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    # 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    # 15-inch Glossy Widescreen Display
    2599$

Config 3
    # 2.66GHz Intel Core i7
    # 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    # 500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
    # 15-inch Hi-Res Antiglare Widescreen Display
    2399$