Choppy Startup

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sabester24, Dec 12, 2015.

  1. sabester24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #1
    Anybody experiencing a choppy startup using El Capitan? For instance, when I restart, the Apple Logo pops up with the loading bar, then the screen quickly flashes to black, then back to the Apple Logo w/ loading bar. Not exactly what I would call a smooth animation... Sometimes the loading bar doesn't even fully complete, the computer just flashes directly to the login screen. I'm using a Late 2015 iMac 5k. I don't remember my old iMac doing this on a restart. Not a huge issue, but just wondering if anybody else is experiencing this problem. Thinking it may be a sign of a bigger issue.
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    My late 2014 5K iMac has been doing this for over a year, on Yosemite as well. It's nothing to worry about.
     
  3. Seed101 macrumors 6502

    Seed101

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    #3
    Yep.

    Freaked me out at first, but things seem to be running well, so I'm going to run with it until someone explains further/an update 'fixes' this!?

    One question. Are you using Apple ram?
    I did think it could be the ram, as I've replaced mine...
     
  4. sabester24 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #4
    I'm using the 8 GB Apple stock ram combined with 16 GB of Crucial RAM. So I've got a total of 24, some stock, some 3rd party.
     
  5. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    I've got the same thing. Are you on an SSD? There's no need for Apple to have a progress bar for SSD users - they should really just have a static Apple logo, as they use on the iPhone/Pad
     
  6. Seed101 macrumors 6502

    Seed101

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    #6
    512gb SSD here...
     
  7. sabester24 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #7
    I'm on 2 TB Fusion Drive, so technically yes, I believe OS X is stored on the SSD portion.
     
  8. ScorpionT16 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #8
    Same here, i'm a first time mac user and got the 5K iMac running ElCapitan, it's been doing this since day 1, good to know it's not only me, i've been wondering:confused:... I'm on a 256GB SSD. I ran the apple stock 8GB ram on its own for a few weeks, same issue. Now i have a mix of 24GB with Crucial and still the same, so def not the ram.

    Its a little annoying.
     
  9. JohnSFO macrumors regular

    JohnSFO

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #9
    It's happened to me too. Late 2015 5k running El Capitan. It happened before and after adding more RAM. I haven't updated to 10.11.2 yet, so maybe Apple addressed it?
     
  10. sabester24 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #10
    They haven't, I'm running 10.11.2
     
  11. Coldmode macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #11
    Do you have FileVault turned on? I always thought the black progress bar was related to FileVault. My work MBP does it (has FV), and my girlfriend's MBA doesn't.
     
  12. MadDane macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    #12
    I was thinking the exact same thing. After I turned FileVault on on my Macs they do the same thing, whereas before they did not. It is nothing I worry about though. I am happy to have all of my data protected.
     
  13. sabester24 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #13
    Not sure it has anything to do with FileVault...in fact, I recently turned FileVault off because it was causing other performance issues, and it still starts up choppy. I guess there is a possibility that FileVault didn't fully deactivate, and that may be causing this.
     
  14. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  15. bent christian Suspended

    bent christian

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    #15
    I have the same experience on the 2015 1080p model. Shutdown also decreases brightness, dock lowers and freezes.

    The system runs great, so I think it's just a quirk of El Cap.

    Not quite ready for prime time.
     
  16. ScorpionT16 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #16
    I've never used FileVault, and it's still the same choppy start up. I even messed up installing a program and ended up doing a complete fresh install of ElCapitan on my Late 2015 iMac 27", same issue even with a fresh install and no settings, programs, files, filevault, etc.
     
  17. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #17
    I just can't understand why anyone would care one whit what the screen does on startup as long as it's fine once it's booted.
     
  18. ScorpionT16 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #18
    Simply because it's odd, not smooth, and raises an eyebrow, that's all. It's like your car stalling or misfiring on the start and then driving fine once up and running. Its a small hiccup, and just good to know it's not a setting, program, bad ram, etc... causing the problem, but the OS.
     
  19. Coldmode macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    #19
    Indeed, even if it's not causing a problem right now, it could be a symptom of something else that will bite you eventually. I'm interested in figuring this out, since several people who use FV (including me) see something similar, but many who don't also see the same thing. I wonder if it's not related to FV at all now.
     
  20. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #20
    There is nothing wrong - it was like that out of the box for me.

    I'm also intrigued why my new iMac has a black boot up screen and my old one has a grey one. Both are on the same version of EC
     
  21. sabester24 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #21
    This might be an issue specific to the iMac. I just booted up my MacBook Air and it was a smooth loading bar on startup.
     

Share This Page