chow can i unlock apple iphone 3g?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by yiannos9, Sep 14, 2008.

  1. yiannos9 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #1
    i bought the new apple iphone 3g from ebay US. I live in Cyprus(Europe).
    How can i unlock it?
     
  2. VTMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #2
    No software unlock exists for iPhone 3g. Your only option is a hardware sim unlock like ziphone.
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    With a TurboSIM or some other hardware unlock. Software does not work yet.

    ZiPhone is a software unlock.
     
  4. yiannos9 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #4
    so how do i do that?
    what i have to do exactly to be able to use the phone and its capabilities?
     
  5. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #5
    Why didn't you buy an unlocked version from eBay as they come from countries where they are legally unlocked by Apple?

    The only way to unlock the iPhone 3G at the moment is by using a physical any-sim device, it can be purchased from eBay. I have included a listing below which is on eBay UK but will ship worldwide and is relatively cheap. You can check the sellers feedback but I see that he/she has already sold many and most customers are happy with them so it shouldn't be a problem for you.

    Ebay Listing

    I'm sure in time a software unlock will become available for iPhone 3G as people are working hard on it but until then that is the only solution I am aware of.

    Hope this helps!
     
  6. VTMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #6
    Doh! Thanks for that correction. Momentary brain fart. I meant Turbo SIM .. at least I got the hardware part correct.
     
  7. yiannos9 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #7
    how exactly does a turbo sim works?does it have any effects on the phone like it limits in any way the functions of the phone?
     
  8. yiannos9 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #8




    how exactly does a turbo sim works?does it have any effects on the phone like it limits in any way the functions of the phone?
    please reply im very desperate!!!:confused:
     
  9. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #9
    The one in that listing is the latest 2.1 turbosim, it does not affect any of the features or usability in the iPhone so there should be no problems.
     
  10. yiannos9 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #10

    thanks for your help.i already bougt it! :)
     
  11. James17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #11
    Nice! Let us know how you get on with using it.
     

Share This Page