Christmas came early! New Canon 6d!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by mikepro, Dec 5, 2013.

  1. mikepro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #1
    Been wanting this camera for a long time, and wife finally agreed as a combined Christmas/Birthday present. Got the 6d and 24-105 kit from Amazon. Have only had a few hours to play with it, but I'm loving it.

    Previous gear was Canon T2i with 18-55 IS2 kit, 55-250 IS2, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 (great lens!). None of which will work with the new camera, so will be up for sale soon.

    Finding the 24-105 on full frame is a great all around range. (As a side note, I almost bought the 15-85mm lens for my APS-C. Anyone thinking of it, I think that too would be an awesome range). First L lens, and it's very well built.

    I cannot believe the high ISO performance of this camera. ISO 12800 looks much better than 3200 on my T2i. Cleaner and less blotchy color noise.

    Camera and lens have a lot more heft than my T2i. Going to take some time to get used to the different controls, and comfortable with the quirks of the camera, lens, and settings. Looking forward to the journey though!

    My only gripe so far is not related to the camera. It's that Aperture's raw processing for the 6D files SUCK! Lots of rainbow flecks of color noise, just looks awful. Out of camera JPEG looks much better. I'm on Mavericks with the latest updates to Aperture, so I should have all the latest RAW updates. Not sure what's going on. If I add the RAW fine tuning adjustment, I only get hue and boost. Sharpening, De-noise, Moire, etc are all grayed out. For my T2i RAW files, those controls are available. Anyone know what's going on? I'm going to have to try converting some raws in Canon's SW, or maybe give Lightroom a trial. Not looking forward to that workflow change, as I'm pretty invested in Aperture's organization. But these raw images are just terrible.

    Anyone have any suggestions? I can try and post a sample of out of camera jpeg vs aperture developed raw if it helps. (Actually, I should probably start a new thread for this question to avoid confusion).
     
  2. r.harris1, Dec 5, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2013

    r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #2
    I'm not a Canon shooter, but doesn't the 6D have a couple of RAW formats? mRAW and normal RAW (or some such)? Which are you using? I know that Aperture's RAW Fine Tuning controls and whether all are available can depend on the specific quality or type of RAW produced by a given camera.
     
  3. supaman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #3
    I'm jealous, I just upgraded from a t3 to a 60D not too long ago. Hopefully will be able to go full frame one day.
     
  4. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

    HappyDude20

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
    #4
    Can T3's and other Rebels do full frame? Im debating getting on of the Canon lines or maybe svn jumping into a camcorder.. with my intent in wanting to take awesome quality photographs and filming 1080p video with solid image stabilization. The iPhone and iPas cameras just aren't doing it for me anymore.
     
  5. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #5
    I think you need to do a bit more research on crop and full frame.

    It is not an option you set in the camera but instead a function of the sensor size within the camera.
     
  6. supaman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    #6
    There are no full frame cameras in the rebel line. Only canons 6d, 5d, and 1d are full frame cameras with the 6d being the least expensive at around 1700 for the body only.
     
  7. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68000

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    Congratulations mikepro...I'm sure you'll love your 6D. Have fun with it!

    Only suggestion I have without seeing a problem image is to check your Aperture RAW import presets. Myself, I don't use them to make any changes on import. I do all adjustments after import and back-up.

    ~ Peter
     
  8. mikepro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #8
    Oh, you know what - pretty sure I was on the mRaw setting. Maybe Aperture only knows how to properly handle the normal full size raw. I'll check it out tonight. If that's all it was, that would be awesome!
     
  9. mikepro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #9
    So do you have a 6D and raw looks ok in aperture for you? If so, that's great, then it must be because of the mRAW I used. I'll try it tonight or tomorrow.
     
  10. jbachandouris macrumors 601

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #10
    I still have a T2i. I'd like to upgrade, but sadly the money just isn't there at the moment, birthday/Christmas or not.

    Congras to you though.
     
  11. Cheese&Apple macrumors 68000

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    6D no, Nikon myself but I'm not sure that will matter. I have no doubt that 6D shooters are successfully using Aperture.

    ~ Peter
     
  12. mikepro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #12
    OK, so I switched the 6D to use the normal full size RAW image, and Aperture handles it much better, although still not great. The full set of RAW fine tuning adjustments are now available, so I may be able to tweak it to look better.

    Right now the in camera JPEG processing is better than what Aperture is doing. Much less noise, better looking. I'll keep working on the settings though, as I like the flexibility and adjustments of RAW. But, I have to say the in camera JPEG is pretty darn good!
     
  13. Cheese&Apple, Dec 6, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2013

    Cheese&Apple macrumors 68000

    Cheese&Apple

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #13
    Generally speaking, my unprocessed RAW images don't look great and JPEG would look better.

    You will need to fine tune using a number of adjustment sets (aka bricks). The end result should be superior to JPEG.

    Of course, if you don't have the time, need or patience, you can shoot JPEG only or JPEG and RAW and process only the really important stuff from RAW.

    I would stick with RAW to get the full benefit from your 6D and persevere with Aperture…needed adjustments will become second nature after a while.

    ~ Peter
     
  14. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #14
    Curious were you shopping around for other cameras as well?

    I keep coming back to the 6D as an option.
    I was tempted with 5D MIII, but really don't have an everyday/professional need for it. And the 6D just seemed like it had a lot of the benefits of the 5D MIII and then some plus a bit more attractive price point, that could be used to purchase lighting gear and studio gear.

    I'd like to find one that can capture decent night shots, wether its architecture, a person, or night sky shooting. but also need to find decent lens that could accompany that as well....

    so far any reservations?
     
  15. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #15
    Have you played around/tested other RAW converters?
    Lightroom
    Capture One Pro (or express)
    Photo Ninja
    DXO
    etc.

    Not all RAW converters are created equal.
     
  16. nburwell macrumors 68040

    nburwell

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    DE
    #16
    Congrats on the 6D! It's an awesome camera!

    As for RAW convertors, I swear by Adobe Lightroom. I tried out Aperture for a short period of time, but I found that since I was so used to Lightroom's UI and controls, I decided to stick with Adobe (especially since I use LR in conjuction with Photoshop to edit my images).

    I doubt it's still going on, but there was a pretty awesome deal on Lightroom 5 on or around Black Friday. I believe it was $60 (or something around that). It's definitely worth taking out. Plus, you can try it free for 30 days if you want to.
     
  17. mikepro thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #17
    I was looking at a few others, but wanted to stay in the Canon line. I have no regrets. Only thing better with the 5d in my opinion, is the autofocus system is better if you shoot fast action stuff, like sports. 6D handles that we'll enough for me. Plus, I love the built in gps and wifi of 6d. The remote iPhone app is really cool. Compose a picture, adjust settings, and trigger shutter from iPhone. Easily preview pics on iPad. That's been fun.

    The low light performance of this is phenomenal. And, the 24-104, even though it's only f/4 does great in low light, and is a pretty versatile range.


    Yeah, I know. I was just shocked how bad the mRaw looked in aperture. Over the holidays, I hope to try at least the canon one. Been so busy with work lately.

    I kick myself for overlooking that I could have gotten Lightroom for $30 off the $60 price with this deal. Amazon credited me the $30, but the price of Lightroom went back up. Was a steal at $30.
     
  18. The Bad Guy macrumors 65816

    The Bad Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #18
    My advice?

    You've got a great camera, why not get some great software?

    Lightroom or Capture One.

    Signed,
    Former Aperture User.
     
  19. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #19
    I never liked noise reduction and processing in anything but Digital Photo Professional the software that comes with it. I had to update my DPP software for the 6D but with pretty much all Canon cameras I've done basic adjustments in DPP then exported a 16-bit TIFF and reopened in Light Room and/or Photoshop...of course this is a pain for large amounts of photos but if you have a few that you want at best quality its not so bad...
     
  20. AlaskaMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #20
    The Canon DVD included with your CD contains a RAW processor that's supposed to be quite good. Maybe you should give it a try.

    I only use CS5 or CS6 RAW converter, and have never had any trouble with it. Have never used Aperture. Some people also say that LightRoom works well, too.

    For noise reduction I use either CS6, or the NIK's plugging.
     
  21. B.A.T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Idaho
    #21
    I would give LR a try since you can do it for free. I did that and never went back to Aperture. If you like it you can subscribe to both LR and Photoshop for $10 a month for the next year.
     
  22. nateo200 macrumors 68030

    nateo200

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern District NY
    #22
    How do you like the CS5/6 noise reduction? I find it kills allot of detail when I need to go heavy handed with it, unless I start to really put allot of work with reducing noise by the specific color channel. I find the Canon Digital Photo Professional to handle noise reduction better without creating that waxy look on skin....if I get a really noisy image I like to start in DPP and reduce the brunt of it then fine tune it in Photoshop CS6, Lightroom 4 is decent for it and they supposedly use the same engine but it comes out different...not sure why. What is the NIK plug-in? How does it fair?
     
  23. AlaskaMoose, Dec 21, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2013

    AlaskaMoose macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #23
    I go light on noise reduction with CS6, and then try the NIK plugin. More than likely where noise reduction can be a problem is with photos that have a very busy background. For example, tree branches and leaves, or grass (small animal on the ground, with a grass or leaves background in the shade).

    But lets say that you take photos of the Auroras. In this case noise reduction is not going to give the sort of plastic look on your image. Somewhat the same can be said for an image with a smooth bokeh.

    Example of a busy background where I did not use much noise reduction:
    [​IMG]
     
  24. Sovoian, Jan 9, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2018

    Sovoian macrumors newbie

    Sovoian

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    #24
    Does the price still at 60$ or it's going up? I need the full version of the program :)
     

Share This Page