Christmas Gift for Myself

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Epic Xbox Revie, Dec 26, 2011.

1. Epic Xbox Revie macrumors 6502a

Epic Xbox Revie

For Christmas I received only cash. Family & friends did this because I tend to buy things whenever I want and I have a lot of things that I want. (Ex. Xbox, TV, Beats, Air, iphone, TB display, a handful of xbox games, etc etc etc)

In the spirit of Christmas, it almost feels wrong not having a physical item to say, "I got a ________ for Christmas." (Hope this makes sense.) Anyway, I am trying to find something to buy, and being the Apple owner I am, I thought: iPad. I also thought Kindle Fire. I also thought, Google Chromebook? (way out there) After these thoughts, I also realized: another one is coming out soon (iPad & MBA) I would like to trade up my MBA once the new ones come out. I would also like to have something that I can say I got for Christmas. I'm not sure if I would be happy with an iPad 2, seeing as I have a MBA, TB display, and an iPhone 4S. Also, I don't know how I would feel if the iPad 3 came out fairly soon.

So I bring to you my question: What would you do? Thanks, and Happy Holidays.

TLDR; What should a technology enthusiast spend his Christmas money on?

2. torbjoern macrumors 65816

torbjoern

You can first buy the iPad 2 entry model, and save the rest of the cash. Then, when iPad gets updated (whenever that may be), you can sell the iPad 2 and use the entire cash to buy an iPad 3. That way, you will have an iPad 3 which still is a surrogate of the Christmas present, and you won't have to wait until the update to get an iPad.

3. donnaw macrumors 65816

I'm not trying to be snotty here but you could just save it. I mean is it really burning a hole in your pocket so you need to spend it right now?

Or, since you have pretty much everything you want, you could donate some of it to a food bank, shelter, etc. That's a gift that keeps on giving. That's probably a bit closer to the 'spirit of Christmas'.