chromakey

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by rweakins, May 28, 2007.

  1. rweakins macrumors 6502

    rweakins

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #1
    anyone know of a downloadable chromakey program that is decent?
     
  2. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #2
    You don't have Final Cut? Any pro applications?


    I think you might be out of luck.
     
  3. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Downloadable as in freeware? Nope. Chromakey is a complex thing. Nobody would just give it away, I'm afraid.
     
  4. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #4
  5. lorductape macrumors 6502

    lorductape

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    t3h usa
    #5
    final cuts keyer in my opinion is junky, i use shakes' chroma
     
  6. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Wow, I really love FCP's keyer, especially compared to others in its software "class" like Premiere. I should try Shake, it would probably blow me away.
     
  7. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #7
    Agreed, but not at crappy as Premieres.
     
  8. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #8
    geez... im afraid to ask how bad that must be...
     
  9. lorductape macrumors 6502

    lorductape

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    t3h usa
    #9
    but you must have noticed that you really have to be in the ideal conditions for it to really work (perfect background color, no wrinkles or varying lighting) and the talent has to be wearing exactly the opposite of whatever your key color is. shake is so forgiving, and if it's not, you can just use a rotoshape and fix the little spots.
     
  10. Peel macrumors 6502a

    Peel

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    Is this with FCP5 or 6? I'm wondering how 6's ability to tweek the range of the key field with the eyedropper tool improves from FCP 5?
     
  11. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #11
    It's more frustrating than bad.
     
  12. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #12
    Shake is very time-consuming though, at least for me it is. There are so many steps. I really need to get to learn the application a little more.

    So much potential in it.
     
  13. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    Oh. Actually, I do this professionally so I do work in perfect conditions. (I try to key out using a DME so I can get to the video before it's compressed, but when I can't, I use FCP)
     
  14. potman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    www.fxhome.com

    A downloadable program called CompositeLab is what your after when you go to the site, it's fairly cheap.
     
  15. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Jashaka (www.jashaka.org) is an open sourse compositor and is very close to the way shake works. there is also open sourse rotoscoping with CinePaint and matchmoving with Voodoo Tracker
     
  16. Macnoviz macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #16
    I asssume you will also want to edit your clips and such, so maybe you could go for FCE, which has chromakey. I found the fxhome products not really easy to use, although they do have the advantage of being more about the special effects, and give pretty cool results. They also have a very large library of free plugins for special effects
     

Share This Page