Chrome triggering decrete graphics on 2011 MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Js17hilton, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. Js17hilton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #1
    Lately, I've been noticing that my battery life has been poor with my MBP. I been checking and seeing that my AMD radeon graphics card is constantly being used instead of the integrated graphics. If I quit google chrome it switches back to integrated graphics.

    Has anyone else had this problem?

    For the time being I am switching back to safari so I can actually get some battery life out of this thing.
     
  2. Perihelion macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #2
    Yup, I'm on the canary release of Chrome and its on discrete the entire time. No luck for me, I have Chrome open all the time so the on board graphics card is useless to me.
     
  3. HRodMusic macrumors member

    HRodMusic

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #3
    i also use chrome, how do i check to see if im using the onboard gpu?
     
  4. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #4
    chrome always uses the discrete graphics... that's how it's been, and probably always will be. Most of us here use Gfxcardstatus (http://codykrieger.com/gfxCardStatus) to keep the computer on the integrated GPU most of the time.

    ----------

    if you use chrome, and you have a discrete GPU, you're using it.
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
  6. TheRdungeon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #6
    Go about this mac > more info. says there what GPU you're currently using
     
  7. Js17hilton thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #7
    wow cool little app.

    I read about this app when I was researching my problem, but I don't know why I had it in my head that it only would work with the older Nvidia chips... Works fine with my radeon.


    Thanks for the tip!

    ----------


    The way I am checking to see what card is in use is...

    apple menu
    about this mac
    more info.


    If It says integrated under graphics, that is what you are using... if it says radeon (or whatever card it has) that is what it is currently using...


    This is on 10.7.1


    update... I did not see this was already answered.
     
  8. HRodMusic macrumors member

    HRodMusic

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle WA

Share This Page