Chrono Trigger Crisis

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Koop87, Sep 19, 2014.

  1. Koop87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #1
    So I recently ordered a new Macbook but I just realized the crisis of epic proportions I'm about to face. I've been pouring some hours into the classic snes game "Chrono Trigger" on my pc (via emulator, legally of course) because I've never actually beaten it. When the new Macbook gets here, am I going to have start all over?! There is a mac version of the emu I am using, any chance I could somehow transfer save files over cross platform? Seems unlikely, but I really have to save the world. Time and space are depending on me. :cool:
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    What you could do is use Apple's Boot Camp and move the Windows system to it and the game.
     
  3. Koop87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #3
    Wouldn't that require me to purchase a copy of windows? I'm a little cash short after the MB purchase.
     
  4. michikade macrumors regular

    michikade

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #4
    zSNES works on MB; I have no idea what emu you're using but I've beaten CT on my MacBook before. Connected a wii remote to it via Bluetooth to use a classic controller, too, but that's just crazy stuff there, hahaha.

    Not 100% sure about importing save data but maybe Google could help with that.

    ----------

    Btw - it's worth beating it, then beating it another 12 times in New Game + to get all of the endings. Just saying.
     
  5. Koop87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #5
    Yeah, zSNES is what I'm using too. So basically I have to see if there's a way to import saves from PC zSNES to Mac zSnes. I'm searching Google but so far no luck, I was hoping someone here had done it before.
     
  6. michikade macrumors regular

    michikade

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #6
    You SHOULD be able to import the .srm file in, from what I see it's all the same save type.

    I could be very wrong, but that is the 'battery save' file. Save states are different, though, but it looks like you should be able to move the folder with your rom in it and everything should work ok.

    Your mileage may vary.
     

Share This Page