Cider? Wine? No milk here....

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Kelly™, Jan 24, 2008.

1. Kelly™ macrumors regular

Hey guys,
    I ran Bot Camp with a Vista install just so that I could play two games.
    • City of Villains
    • Call of Duty 4 | Modern Warfare
    Is there any way to use programs such as Cider or perhaps Wine to run these games under OS X directly?
    As in my sig, I have a perfectly good machine for it. forgive me, im new at gaming under OS X.

My BootCamp part crashed big time and was wondering if I even really needed it.

Any advice would help alot.
    Many thanks,
    Kelly

2. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

GFLPraxis

I briefly tried tossing City of Heroes in a Cider configuration but couldn't get it to run...didn't try too hard though. Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force ran great in a similar setup.

No clue about CrossOver Office or Wine though.

3. Kelly™ thread starter macrumors regular

Are there any guides on how to setup Cider?
    Where to get it?

I'm really new.
    I used wine in linux, so I kinda have a base of whats needed?

4. tominated macrumors 68000

tominated

cider isn't actually an app. It is a technology used to convert windows code to something that mac can use. I have heard of people hacking a game that uses cider to run other games, though.

5. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

Isn't Crossover making a game version. Wait for that to come out.

6. kkat69 macrumors 68020

kkat69

Crossover already runs games. It's its biggest selling feature actually. They advertise running Team Fortress 2 faster than anything else. Whether it's true is yet to be seen but it does run a wide list of games.

Crossover is an actual application that allows you to install windows apps/games onto OSX. It wraps them in 'bottles' that the crossover engine (basically a collection of windows dll's and other windows items) will run and allow the application/game to run.

Google codeweavers crossover and they have a compatibility list.