Cinema 4d R14 on the new iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jackofharts, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. jackofharts macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #1
    Hello,

    I could do with a few opinions on whether the 27" iMac i5 3TB Fusion is capable enough to run Cinema 4d R14?

    Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    It is capable to run that application.

    My 2009 MBP and 2007 iMac are capable of running R13 quite well, though the render times are a bit long, but then again, I only have two cores and not four real and 4 virtual cores like the current iMac has.
     
  3. AppleInMyBlood macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    #3
    I'm buying a 2012 iMac for, among other things, pretty heavy Cinema 4d work. From the research I've done it seems it will handle it pretty well, and I can't afford to get a new Mac Pro when it's released, assuming it will be as pricey as the current one.

    Keep in mind that only the i7 iMac offers hyper-threading giving you 4 virtual cores.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Yep, took the 5 for a 7.
     

Share This Page