Cinema Display 16:9 Inputs

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by SuperKerem, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. SuperKerem macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I have a 16:10 Cinema Display 30” (2004-2010). I’ve tried to get a 16:9 input working (games console etc) but whatever I do, the display won’t accept the input (flashing white LED).

    Any experts here know if there’s a way I could get this to work/whether any obscure adapters exist for this purpose?
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    How are you connecting it to your gaming console?

    The 30" is a lot of pixels to dive, and you MUST connect it via a DL-DVI port.
     
  3. SuperKerem, Oct 4, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018

    SuperKerem thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    At the moment I've got DL-DVI to Mini DisplayPort, Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort (how I usually connect to my desktop), and then DisplayPort to HDMI. I was sure to get the correct adapters (i.e. correct one directional DP to HDMI), and the display detects an input as the front LED flashes, but nothing appears on screen. I don't know if there is any box/adapter that will let me adjust the input properties, though I'd guess that something like that would probably fix the issue.
     
  4. Amethyst1, Oct 4, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018

    Amethyst1 macrumors 6502

    Amethyst1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    @SuperKerem: The 30" ACD only accepts two modes: 1280x800 via single-link DVI and 2560x1600 via dual-link DVI. Since your consoles don't provide these modes, the display refuses to play ball. And as for your "HDMI to DisplayPort" adapter, most of these are simple passive ones that only work in the opposite direction; you'd need an active HDMI-to-DP adapter like this one: https://www.startech.com/ca/AV/Converters/Video/Active-HDMI-or-DVI-to-DisplayPort-Converter~HDMI2DP. But even with one of those, the problem of the ACD not accepting 16:9 inputs still remains to be solved.
     
  5. SuperKerem thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Yeah, I was hoping that wouldn't be the case. I'm sure there must be some way to get this to work (perhaps through an external adapter/computer), but I can't think of anything specific. Hmm..
     
  6. Amethyst1 macrumors 6502

    Amethyst1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Do the consoles you want to connect have analogue RCA outputs? If so, you could display them on a Mac connected to the ACD using e.g. an Elgato EyeTV 250 video capture box. There'll be some latency though.
     
  7. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    I've been using a little Canopus ADVC-55 Firewire interface for S-video input for some time. The best companion video throughput app I've found with near-zero lag, low CPU overhead and good picture quality is Vidi v0.4.5.

    PS2 and earlier console games look decent enough without any lag and the device will perform smoothly on any Firewire capable Mac (including a G3).

    In the past I used this setup to transfer VHS tapes to digital.
     
  8. Amethyst1 macrumors 6502

    Amethyst1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    The Canopus box is the better solution; although presumably more expensive and harder to come by than an EyeTV 250. :)
     
  9. SuperKerem, Oct 5, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2018

    SuperKerem thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    As far as I know, Xbox One/PS4 only support HDMI out, and RCA only supports 480p so the capture box may not be worth it, though I may have no other choice.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 5, 2018 ---
    Thanks for the suggestion. Is there a box similar to this that supports 1080/1440p? I also wouldn’t mind dedicating a spare computer to run this, as long as it works!
     
  10. Amethyst1 macrumors 6502

    Amethyst1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    There are several "gaming capture" boxes that take 1920x1080 inputs via HDMI and attach to a computer via USB. The Elgato HD60, for instance, also works with Macs. However, as stated on that site, you need a fairly recent/powerful system.
     
  11. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #11
    Worth mentioning that Cinema displays dont have any sort of hardware scaler built in.

    so if your trying to shove a weird rez into it and the host also does not have any sort of scaler then things will fail to work.
     
  12. SuperKerem thread starter macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    I'm not sure if the input goes through USB at a sufficient latency (intended for HDMI passthrough), but I'll keep a lookout in case one pops up on eBay!
    --- Post Merged, Oct 9, 2018 ---
    Thanks, good to clarify. This does indeed seem to be the case, so I guess it may be easiest to just buy some new display equipment.
     

Share This Page

11 October 3, 2018