Cinema Display as multi-purpose display

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Draeconis, Jan 26, 2015.

  1. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,

    Had an idea for setting up my 2010 ACD so I can use it with my Apple TV, my XBox, my Wii, and my Mac Pro. Please help me sanity check this setup.

    The concept centers around using a Kanex XD, but since on my ACD that will limit it to 720p from my Mac Pro, I'd like to split the signal before it gets there, using a Kanex SnapX. The Mac Pro should connect directly to the SnapX, to the ACD.

    To get HDMI devices working, I'd like to connect the other input from the SnapX to the XD. This I would then split at the HDMI input to 3 inputs, using something like this. At this point, I'm hoping I can connect the XBox and the Apple TV, though because of the Kanex XD they'd only run at 720p. I'd also like to attach a converter from HDMI to Component to connect the Wii, probably something like this.

    What do people think? Will this work?
     
  2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2
    So you want to add $200 worth of dongles, hoping to make everything work just so you can pipe your gaming systems thru your 5 year old Monitor?
     
  3. Draeconis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    It'll cost around £110, so $160 or so, but that's correct.
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    Well from a "will this work"....It seems like it would....

    But from your original post: Please help me sanity check this setup.

    I'm saying not the sanest way to do this.... I don't know what they go for where you live, but around here 26" 720P monitors go for about $200.... Which is really all you are going to end up with....
     
  5. Draeconis thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    So, I'm more asking if this will technically work, not a critique of why I'm doing it in the first place.
     
  6. dyt1983, Jan 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #6
    edit: To remove personally identifying info not relevant to the conversation.
     
  7. venom600 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Yes, it will technically work. It's a terrible idea and a waste of money, however. You'd be better off buying a small TV to use. HP also sells a 32" monitor with 25x14 res (same as the 27" LED Cinema Display) for about $500.
     

Share This Page