Cinema Display. Buy Now Or Wait?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by shishkabob, Aug 31, 2008.

1. shishkabob macrumors newbie

I am a graphic designer. I am constantly having to upgrade my computers and computer software. It's been three years since my last purchase, and I'm looking to buy a new computer.

I have my heart set on the new 30" Apple Cinema HD Display. I currently own a Power Mac G5, 23" FLAT PSYST. It's time to upgrade, but I'm hesitant to do so. There have been some rumors going around that Apple is going to upgrade their LED displays soon. What exactly is this upgrade? When is it going to come out?

It seems like every time I purchase a new Apple product, a month later they come out with something bigger and better. So what I want to know is, first, my previous questions, and this: Should I buy the 30" display now, or is it worth the wait?

Your advice, comments and insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

They haven't been updated for about two years. Apple really doesn't care about them, so just get what you want now and be happy.

3. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

Your Mac will work with any display with a VGA or DVI connector. I recommend one from Dell instead - they are MUCH better value for money.

4. CharlieKirk macrumors 6502

I'm going to have to disagree with you on that. Seeing as he is a graphic designer, and isn't just getting the 30 for screen space, I'd go with the ACD, as you need the color.

5. wako macrumors 65816

I'm going to have to disagree with you on that. Seeing as how he is a graphic designer he also probably knows from monitor to monitor, all their colors are different and he probably has a colorimeter to calibrate his monitors.

Whether he buys an ACD or a Dell, all monitors need to be calibrated if is going to be used for professional work.

6. CWallace macrumors 601

CWallace