Cinema display with ADC output. Help?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by paulwgraber, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. paulwgraber macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #1
    I just got a G4 MDD 1.25GHZ. I Also have a Cinema display which has an ADC output on it. I have noticed all the radeon cards I want to get such as the 9600 or 9700 have DVI inputs on them so my Cinema display wont fit?

    Any advice please.
    Thanks
     
  2. jrsx macrumors 65816

    jrsx

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    #2
    No, I don't think it will fit. Anyone correct me if I am wrong, but I think ADC connectors are different but do look similar to DVI ports.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. thesaz123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    York, PA, USA
    #3
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    As stated above, you can get an adapter. Or you can get the Mac version of the ATI 9600/9700 that was designed for use in G4s. The Mac 9700 is very rare as it is the only G4 card that can output to an ADC screen and have CoreImage.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  6. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #7
  7. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #8
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    ATI 9800 cards will work in a MDD G4. They're not as powerful as the 9700, but will work fine. That card is not a Mac card, it is a flashed card and does not have an ADC port.
     
  9. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #10
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    I'm not sure, but I think that one will not work. ADC cards cannot be both G4 and G5 due to where their power tab, the little half inch tab near the faceplate, is located. That card is also from the UK, not sure if you noticed that or not.
     
  12. paulwgraber thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    #14
    or would a Geforce4 ti 4600 be better still.

    I have one in my DP 1.42 GHZ mac. Plus its ADC.
    I could always pull it and put it in my 1.2.

    Ive just never been a Geforce fan.
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    The GeForce 4 Ti is a powerful card, not as powerful as the ATI 9700 Pro as it doesn't have CoreImage. But still a good strong card for a MDD G4.
     
  14. ifrit05 macrumors regular

    ifrit05

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    Near Detroit, MI. USA
    #16
    Any 9800 card is more powerful than any 9700.
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #17
    Correct. I was mixing two different categories and getting that inaccurate result.
     
  16. macnerd93 macrumors 6502a

    macnerd93

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #18
    it would most likely be better buying the Apple DVI-ADC Adaptor this gives you a Power Brick and allows the display to be connected to a typical DVI input. I use to have one for a while for my 17'' Apple Display, but sold it. This would allow you to use a DVI graphics card which are more common to find.
     

Share This Page