Cinema VS Thunderbolt Display

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by commac, Nov 16, 2014.

1. commac, Nov 16, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2014

commac macrumors regular

I'm a web developer whos been waiting for Apple to release a refreshed 27" display for over a year. A thousand dollars for a monitor without USB3 support seems off. I have a late 2013 retina macbook pro which has 2 thunderbolt ports.

People are talking about the possibility of the next Apple display being retina or 5K only. If thats the case I would like to buy now and have a standard DPI monitor for seeing what the majority of the world sees. It is still very frustrating to work in Photoshop on retina screen (need to work at 200%).

My question is: Is it better to buy the thunderbolt or Cinema display?

The thunderbolt has more ports (that are out dated) but the cinema display seems compatible with PC's which would be nice since I have a Windows machine as well.

Does anyone have experience with the Cinema display on a PC?

I also have the logic that more parts in the Thunderbolt display mean more points of potential failure.

I cant think of any major reasons why the Thunderbolt display is better. I have an ethernet adapter and don't have any firewire devices. Does Thunderbolt allow for anything really cool over the Cinema that I'm missing?

2. JoelBC macrumors 6502a

I have been pondering the same thing especially when Apple is selling both as refurbs for the same price, $799.00,

3. Macsonic macrumors 65816

Macsonic