Cities: Skylines on a iMac late 2015?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Reallifecat, May 29, 2016.

  1. Reallifecat macrumors newbie

    Reallifecat

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Location:
    Somewhere in the uk
    #1
    My specs are:
    Intel i5 2.8 ghz turbo boost upto 3.2 GHZ
    8GB DDR3 RAM
    Intel Iris Pro Graphics 6200 1536 MB


    Will I be able to run it?
     
  2. flood2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #2
    Easiest way to check is to go to macgamestore and select the game, scroll to the bottom and it will check against your machine. I play on a older mac mini that does not meet specs and its ok most of the time.

    Its also on sale just now so i would give it a go!
     
  3. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #3
    I get mediocre results at max detail with a 775m. You can always turn down the graphics however I feel that takes away from a city building game.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I went to the Cities:Skylines home page, and clicked on their requirements, I recommend doing this when you're not sure if your computer has the proper system requirements for a particularly piece of software.

    The requirements state that a iGPU is not supported, so you may not get the results you were hoping for.

    Capto_Capture 2016-05-30_06-11-55_AM.png
     
  5. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #5
    Its generally a good idea to approach a game with the recommended specs as your minimal specs. However in this case I would recommend even better than their recommended specs as minimum specs. Like I mentioned I have an i5, 775m, 24gb RAM.

    Click
    citiesskyline.jpg

    That is a relatively uncrowded area with not too much going on and note the FPS in the upper right, 22fps.

    ..........

    I think Cities : Skylines is on sale this weekend btw. I'd recommend it to anyone that enjoys city builders. As you can see above your city is only limited by your imagination, or lack thereof in my case. Only gripe I have with the game is it turns into road building, dealing with traffic game. They spent way too much effort into getting traffic realistic that you'll need to spend a lot of time making sure the roads are adequate... Its pretty amazing you can follow a citizen around from the time they are born, goto school, college, get a job, retire then eventually follow the hurst to the cemetery if you have enough patience. Highly recommend this game.
     
  6. Aegelward macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    You'd have better odds in windows.

    Cities Skylines is based on unity, which for whatever reason devs are too lazy to optimise for OS X, though to be honest, it's fairly unoptimised in windows too.
     
  7. angelvn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    #7
    I have very same iMac - late 2015 21.5" 2.8GHz intel i5.
    First time I started the game it started in 1920x1080 resolution with all set on high (details, shadows, distance and etc). I haven't played much, but it runs butterly smooth with city with population of ~10 000 citizens. Sometimes I hear the cooling fan (especially when I zoom in often).
     

Share This Page