Civ 3 Complete 1.22 Patch TroubleShooting

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by wyatt23, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. wyatt23 macrumors 6502a

    wyatt23

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Forest Hills, NY
    #1
    I recently upgraded to a 2.0 Aluminum MacBook with Leopard 10.5.5.
    Obviously I had to install Civ 3 Complete. However, it is not a Universal Binary nor does it contain 2 finger scrolling support. 1.22 patch is supposed to fix both of those issues, but if you download the Rev A installer, it usually hangs at the 'OpenPlay.rsrc' file and ruins the PPC binary. I followed a ton of forums on the internets and never found the problem's solution... until today.

    I directed my complaints towards Aspyr and in two days got this resolution. I am currently at work, where i have lots of time, but no mac! So i will be posting the solution and trying this out later... if it works for anyone please post for others. I am about 5 hours from trying the same thing on my system.

    This is how to apply the manual rev a patch to civ 3 complete:


    I hope this helps anyone who can't bare another minute having civ 3 bc of an accidental two finger scroll!
     
  2. nr7393 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    #2
    Unexpected quit for Civ. 3

    I just recently bought Civilization 3

    I had to use the alternative download (posted by Wyatt 23) for my MacBook Pro.

    Yet even though the game now loads, every two minutes or so the game just quits and the box that says "Civ. 3 unexpectedly quit....would you like to report to apple, relaunch, or ignore" pops up.

    This is very annoying as I am unable to make any real progress in the game.

    Does anybody know how to solve this???

    Thanks.
     
  3. Doog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #3
    Any joy with this Wyatt? Just got me a Mac Book Pro and Civ III complete - crashes as soon as I scroll...
     
  4. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #4
    Have you tried Civ IV?

    I am wondering if the newer game runs acceptably well on the 9400m or 9600m based notebooks.
     
  5. mikemcc591 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #5
    civilization III issue

    Just got new imac and Civilization III complete. Game drops out after about 2 minutes of play. Any suggestions??
     
  6. ManhattanPrjct macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #6
    I had this problem - the only time it crashes and quits is when I try to do a two-finger swipe on the trackpad. As long you only use one finger on your trackpad and use ctrl for a right click, you'll be fine.
     
  7. MonkeyCookie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #7
    I have a late-2007 Macbook with GMA x3100 graphics, and it's able to run Civilization IV quite smoothly. If the game works on that, it should have no problems at all on the notebooks with dedicated graphics cards like the 9400m or 9600m.
     

Share This Page