Civ V + DP5 = :(

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by ErikGrim, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #1
    DP frame has decimated the frame rate in Civ V for me. Have closed off every other process other than Steam and the game itself and it's still abysmal. Anyone else seeing this?

    Was perfect in previous DPs :(

    Activity reporter reports high usage from the coreduetd process intermittently. Culprit?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Submit a bug report and either boot off a Mavericks partition or just don't play the game until apple releases 10.10
     
  3. ErikGrim thread starter macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #3
    Thank you most unhelpful poster ever.
     
  4. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #4
    You really should submit a bug report though. There's really nothing that we can do if it's a code change within Yosemite.
     
  5. ErikGrim thread starter macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #5
    I'm trying to nail down the culprit before I submit a bug report: by finding if others have the same issue or if it is limited to my setup. The more info one has before submitting a bug report the more helpful it is. Rather than just saying "I have this issue wah wah, one can actually provide useful information on how to fix said issue.

    Or to put it more plainly: A bug report without useful context is just whining.

    For instance: if anyone could shine a light on what CoreDuet is and why it is hogging CPU time, that would be useful.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    When you file a bug report, they also require a sysdiagnosis file, so its not just complaining. They have a lot of detailed information that goes along with it.
     
  7. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7
    Send a support ticket to Aspyr, too, so they are aware.
     
  8. forestsprite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #8
    I just installed Yosemite this morning, will try and run Civ V when I get home. If it's really that bad it looks like I'll be cloning back to Mavericks until the issue is resolved. Civ runs slow enough as it is. :p
     
  9. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #9
    Granted my measly MBA mid-2011 is closer to the "System Requirements" than the "Recommended" as far as hardware, but Civ V was playable in Mavericks.

    Just now fired it up in DP5 and my frame rate hasn't been "decimated" compared to Mavericks. I'd say it's about the same and playable in a pinch. It's still bad compared to my Windows gaming rig, however.

    Maybe someone with more powerful graphics can chime in.
     
  10. lordburger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    #10
    Smooth sailing

    Everything is super smooth at 1680 x 1050 with everything set to High (except for Leader quality).

    Late 2013 rMBP with 750M

    It's actually smoother than I remember Mavericks to be, but I haven't played for a while!
     
  11. Rian Gray macrumors regular

    Rian Gray

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    NJ, United States
    #11
    I'm a fond player of Civ 5 by myself, but it works well on all of my machines. I have iMac 27 (late 2011), MBP 17 (late 2010), MBA 11 (late 2010), running on Yosemite public beta.
     
  12. ZacNicholson macrumors 6502a

    ZacNicholson

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Location:
    Indiana
  13. ErikGrim thread starter macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #13
    Eventually coreduetd settled down and frame rates improved (after a couple of restarts of the game). Still a bit of a mystery to what it does. Appears to be a new private framework.
     
  14. forestsprite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #14
    I played a bit this morning, and granted I only got to turn 64, but it seemed to be running fine - possibly even smoother. This is on a 2012 Macbook Air with the 8GB ram upgrade.
     
  15. colourfastt macrumors 6502a

    colourfastt

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    #15
    I got my copy of Civ 5 through the App Store rather than Steam and have had no problems with it at all; in fact, it's playing better than on 10.9.
     

Share This Page