Civ V system requirements released

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Cougarcat, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #1
    ...and they are pretty high for what is essentially a board game:

    Minimum:

    Operating System: Windows XP SP3/ Windows Vista SP2/ Windows 7
    Processor: Dual Core CPU*
    Memory: 2GB RAM
    Hard Disk Space: 8 GB Free
    DVD-ROM Drive: Required for disc-based installation
    Video: 256 MB ATI HD2600 XT or better, 256 MB nVidia 7900 GS or better, or Core i3 or better integrated graphics
    Sound: DirectX 9.0c-compatible sound card
    DirectX: DirectX version 9.0c

    Recommended:

    Operating System: Windows Vista SP2/ Windows 7
    Processor: 1.8 GHz Quad Core CPU
    Memory: 4 GB RAM
    Hard Disk Space: 8 GB Free
    DVD-ROM Drive: Required for disc-based installation
    Video: 512 MB ATI 4800 series or better, 512 MB nVidia 9800 series or better
    Sound: DirectX 9.0c-compatible sound card
    DirectX: DirectX version 11



    Hopefully the 320M and 9400M will be able to handle it OK, or else it would leave a lot of macs in the cold.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Sadly the minimum requirements will only be good until the rest of the world map will be revealed. After that, anything short of a few Crays will crawl.
     
  3. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Woohoo, finally a reason I bought a Mac Pro.


    I jest, but I look forward to being able to run Civ V decently. I hope they've fixed the slowdown towards end game though.
     
  4. savvos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    #4
    The 320s and 9400Ms should be fine. It lists Core i3 integrated graphics or better as a minimum requirement and anything not Intel is definitely better, even if the 9400M came out 2 years ago.
     
  5. Cougarcat thread starter macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #5
    Civ IV didn't have dual core or quad core support, and that should help out a lot during the number-crunching end game.
     
  6. capoeirista macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #6
    Yes I read these over on Friday. I'm waiting for the mac specs to come out. I've just bought a MBP 13", and hopefully it'll run ok (at least in teh early part of the game). If not I'll have to buy Civ IV instead.

    Oh for those of you who love Civ and have an iPhone/iPod Touch, the Civ Revolutions app is FREE at the moment. I've no idea how long it'll last but I've snagged it just now. I also have it on DS. It's pretty good, but very lightweight compared to 'proper' Civ. That said, it is a perfect handheld game, and you can play through the entire thing in about 2 hours. Great for commuting!
     
  7. Shivetya macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #7
    is there word when a Mac native version will arrive?

    I really do not like booting into Windows.
     
  8. bob5820 macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #8
    I don't believe anythings been said about a Mac version yet. Not sure if Firaxis would release it or if they will leave it to a third party to port. If it goes the 3rd party route I'd expect to wait about a year.
     
  9. bob5820 macrumors 6502a

    bob5820

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Location:
    35°0′36″N 80°40′45″W (35.0
    #9
    I'm bummed that it looks like the ATI 5800's are a no go in the 06 MacPro. The 3870 I have in there now beets the min spec but I suspect I will be wanting better performace. Not sure if I'll get a 4870/90 or if I'll build a dedicated gaming PC. Obviously building a gaming PC is the more expensive option but I'm feeling an urge to build a PC again. Haven't built anything from scratch in 7 years or so.
     
  10. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #10
    I think the requirements are fine. The 320 and 9400m will be adequate. I think the minimum listed are actually "safe" specs from Firaxis.

    Can't wait for this game, I love Civ IV.
     
  11. Bat9th macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    #11
    I sure hope it runs decently on the 320. Being that I have a 2.4 ghz 13" MBP. I am really looking forward to this game.
     

Share This Page