Civ V worth $12.50?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by shaunb83, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. shaunb83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #1
    GameAgent has Civ V on sale - 75% off, or $12.50.

    I've seen that everyone recommends getting Civ V via STEAM, but is this is a good deal or worth getting for $12.50?

    Have they ironed out most of the bugs yet, or is it still slow/crash prone/bad game play?

    Thanks
     
  2. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #2
    It's worth it if you don't care about multiplayer or the DLC.
     
  3. Danno21 macrumors regular

    Danno21

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    #3
    You can buy Civ 5 from anywhere and activate it on Steam still. Just get the CD-key and go into Steam and under games there should be an option to "Activate a Steam product" or something like that. Put in the key and then you can download Civ 5 for Steam.

    I did the same thing when some random site had it for $12.
     
  4. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #4
    +1 I did the same using D2D

    Game is certainly worth $12.50 IMO if you like turn based strategy.
     
  5. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
  6. tippman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    #6
    One of Civ5's requirements is to have a Mac keyboard and mouse. Does anyone know if a normal PC keyboard and mouse would work? I have a Mac Mini i5 4gb ram and 6630 graphics card. Thanks.
     
  7. flycats macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
  8. AspyrRyan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    In general, any keyboard or mouse that works on the computer should work. We only support the Mac keyboards, though. I've actually been testing Civ on the Mac Mini with the 6630 lately.

    The MBAs have a processor below the minimum requirements, and one of the lowest end video cards. I wouldn't recommend trying to play Civ 5 on it.
     
  9. oklaonion macrumors member

    oklaonion

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #9
    Last time I checked the 9400m wasn't officially supported. However, I've heard numerous reports that the game works fine with this card. Fact or fiction?
     
  10. tee-tz macrumors member

    tee-tz

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #10
    Hi Ryan,

    Having read the system requirements I see that the my older MacBook Pro meets the minimum criteria. However, reviews from multiple sites (inlcudig Apple's App Store) reveal that users are still experiencing performance issues having met the minimum system requirements. Can you comment on whether this issue/comments have any merit?


    Thanks,

    Tee-Tz.
     
  11. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #11
    All Civ V games will bog down at some point. Obviously, newer, faster computers will experience this later in the game than will less powerful machines like the MBA or older portables.
     
  12. AspyrRyan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    Performance issues are largely tied to what options you're running. The larger the map, the more video issues you'll encounter. The more AIs in the game (both city-states and civilizations), the longer of a wait you'll have between turns. As the game progresses, and there are more units, cities, and tile improvements, the slower the game will go. This is true on both the PC and Mac versions of the game.

    I wouldn't recommend playing a Huge Marathon map on a minimum spec computer. Honestly, I've got a high end PC at home, and I wouldn't play on Huge or Large maps.
     
  13. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #13
    Civ 5 is $12.50 on Steam through Monday. I'm not going to get it since I already have a queue of Steam games that I haven't played yet.
     

Share This Page