Civilization 4

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ajbrehm, Jan 27, 2009.

  1. ajbrehm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    #1
    I haven't followed development of Civilization 4.

    Is it now possible to play it on Mac OS X, without the DVD in the drive, and in a window?

    I am always looking for strategy games that I can play in a windows while watching DVDs or doing other stuff, games that don't require me to search my flat for the DVD just to play a few turns.

    Alpha Centauri still does that for me. I wonder if Civ 4 finally can?
     
  2. sinser macrumors 6502a

    sinser

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #2
    Would be interesting to know. I hate searching for the dvd and inserting every time I just want to play a few turns. Maybe by burning a DVD image ? Would however be annoying to waste other precious HD space.
     
  3. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #3
    Unless there has been a new update/patch in the last few months, you still cannot play it without a DVD (or Warlords CD) in the drive, and it also doesn't support windowed mode either. And it's still buggy, crashes randomly and produces ugly graphical glitches after a while (blue becomes black, for example), and the speech output also stops working after a while. I don't know about the Windows version, but like UT2004 (where speech output on Intel Macs also doesn't work), this is another great example of why we shouldn't bother buying Mac ports of Windows games.
     
  4. Deelron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #4
    I've been able to play (Warlords) after starting it up with the CD until I'm actually playing the game, then ejecting it. Most of my play has been in LAN multiplayer, and it hasn't caused me any problems there (although it's still a bummer to need it at all of course).

    Additionally, one of my machines runs it constantly (it's fairly underpowered for it) in windowed mode (Dual 2.0 GHZ G5, 1st gen) via holding option while starting up, and is more stable then running full screen on a Intel iMac.
     
  5. sinser macrumors 6502a

    sinser

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #5
    I just asked the same thing on the civfanatics forum and they closed my thread. Looks like I've violated something just for asking if it was possible to play without DVD :eek:
     
  6. Bernd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    #6
    Yes you can play in windowed mode. If you are running 10.4.11 right now we are waiting on a patch to fix the issue with insta crash if you have installed Quicktime 7.6.
     
  7. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #7
    That's because such a discussion inevitably turns into a "where can I find a nocd crack?" topic, which is against forum rules. Regarding playing without the DVD - the short answer is, there's no officially supported way to do it (short of playing the Windows version through Steam). A disk image will NOT work, so there's no point in trying. As someone already mentioned, you can eject the DVD after opening Civ 4 and passing the disc check, but that's an annoying solution at best. My personal feeling is that there's nothing wrong with a nocd crack for a game that you've legitimately paid for, but nobody on these forums will help you find one.
     
  8. songthen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #8
    there is a no cd crack and it works just fine. however, it doesn't seem to work after installing the latest patch - 1.74.
     

Share This Page