Civilization V vs. Steam

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Bug-Creator, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. Bug-Creator macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    O.k. so took the bait and bought that MacUpdate-bundle and installed the SW as documented.

    I allready had Steam installed (free editon of Team Fortress 2) so I added Civ V according to readme.

    Now whenever I start Civ, either direct from the desktop or by going through Steam 1st, it connects to Steam (successfully) starts Civ which than complains I would have to have Steam running :confused:

    I quick google revealed no sollution but showed that this problem exists for atleast 2 years.... :mad:
     
  2. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #2
    Here are some suggestions in ascending order of complexity.

    1. Check for Steam updates under the "Steam" menu.
    2. Right-click the game in the Steam library window and select properties. Verify the cache under the "Local Files" tab.
    3. Delete and re-install the Steam application.
    4. On the same tab as step 2, delete the local game and then re-install Civ 5.
     
  3. Bug-Creator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #3
    1. Steam claims to be uptodate
    2. Tried that yesterday, booked under "no sollution":rolleyes:
    3. ----
    4. Also allready tried that without success, currently trying a 2nd time (just in case)
     
  4. Bug-Creator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
  5. laetusviator macrumors member

    laetusviator

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    #5
    Here's a couple more things to try:

    1. Did you try 'verify integrity of the game cache'? (Right click on civ 5, pick Properties > Local Files > Verify Integrity of the Game Cache.)

    2. What happens if Steam is in Offline mode?
     
  6. Bug-Creator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    1. all files o.k.

    2. that stupid message about running Steam appears immediatly (took about 20 sec when online)
     
  7. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7
    When you delete Steam to reinstall, make sure you delete the steam folder in user/library/application support. You can back up your steam apps folder so you don't have to redownload the games.

    I got this error for a different game and that solved it for me.
     
  8. Bug-Creator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    O.k. that actually worked...

    Given that this problem seems to exist for years and various games but still hasn't been fixed beyond the equivalent of "format c:" I can say this will be last "new" game I'll buy for this decade (if not ever).
    I'd rather stick to PS2-games and older (these either work or haven't been released) or freebies.

    *insert lenghty rant about missing quality in pretty much any SW written in the last 15 years here*
     
  9. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #9
    It's a bit silly to let Steam turn you off gaming altogether, though I do agree that the Steam client is terrible on the Mac--it's written using cross-platform stuff so they can update it along with the PC version more easily (notice how the scrollbars aren't Lion's, the tooltips will appear over windows if you have it in the background, and the stoplight icons don't agree with the system settings? Not to mention the PC-style file browser. Ugh.)

    It's a shame, because Steam is a great service, and Valve makes great games. I hope they decide to write a proper client for the Mac in Cocoa one of these days.
     
  10. Bug-Creator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    Don't worry to much, cos most of my gaming is playing "Time Pilot" on http://geit.de/deu_funarcade.html 2-3 times a year :eek:

    My last bought games were PS2-titles (atleast 2 years ago) and it's been ages since I had a PC suitable for games (and the 2006 Mini that was replaced by this iMac wasn't suitable even for playing Time Pilot :p ).
     
  11. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Try deleting your client blob if such a thing exists on OS X.
     

Share This Page