Civlization IV Beyond the Sword???

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Chris14, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. Chris14 macrumors regular

    Chris14

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    #1
    Just saw the trailer on civfanatics.com :eek:
    This game looks great. Since Civ IV's Mac version is such a crappy piece of software... bugs for africa. What do you think are the odds of a mac version of BTS?
    Civ IV runs ****** on any mac I've ever played it on... frustrating because of its relatively low PC Sys-Requirements. I may have to resort to BootCamping and buying a PC version of Civ 4. Damn you Aspyr!!! :mad:
     
  2. aspro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    #2
    Yeah, the late game seems to have a lot of new features. I can't wait to see how the corporations work in practice. The new civs and leaders should be good as well.

    It is a shame about the mac port, I would say its about the worst I've ever come across. I currently play in Bootcamp as you are thinking about and it runs great (at least much better than in OS X, the late game on a huge map would tie down any machine).
     
  3. Chris14 thread starter macrumors regular

    Chris14

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    #3
    what mac you got?

    What mac are you running Civ IV on?
    iMac? MBP? Mac Pro? or
    Macbook??? :D

    I unfortunately have the X1600 iMac with 128 MB VRAM. ****** Card... but I had no idea at the time. How is performance on huge maps?
    Smooth Scrolling etc?

    Thanks
    :apple:
     
  4. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #4
    Civilization IV runs beautifully on my MacBook Pro, aside from a few graphic glitches that occur if I play the game for too long. :)
     
  5. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
  6. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    I am happy with the performance of Civilization IV on my MacBook...thoroughly enjoyable, at least to my mind...sometimes I notice issues towards the end of the game with large maps, but its not bad...at least in my opinion...
     
  7. Chris14 thread starter macrumors regular

    Chris14

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, NZ
    #7
  8. ross.32 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #8
    JW, if I were to buy the Mac version of Civ IV, could I play online with PC users?
     
  9. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #9
    Yes you could. All versions are kept in sync between the OSs.
     
  10. swwack91 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    i have the mac version of Civ IV and Warlords on my MBP (2.33GHz, 2GB, Not SR) and it runs great. It takes a while to load each turn when it gets to the crazy end of the game, but it did the same on my Pentium 4 PC.

    I have no complaints and it definitely doesn't run like ****.
     

Share This Page