Clamshell Trouble =[

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by prettyas3.14, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. prettyas3.14 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Broadway (hehe I wish)
    #1
    Just bought a Tangerine Clamshell with os 9 on it a few days ago. It just arrived at my house today (I bought it on ebay) and I have been fiddling around with it. Internet explorer seems to work okay, but it is very slow (I am using Internet Explorer on my clamshell to write this). When I go to cirtian pages like yahoo or myspace, most of the page will apear in code. Not html code but like blank boxes, apple signs and random signs like that.

    Is it internet explorers fault, or os 9's fault?

    Also, should I use netscape or internet explorer (by the way icab won't function on the computer)? Interner explorer seems to be very slow, but it functions pretty well, wereas Netscape seems really fast, but alot of the pages appear like they would on a cell phone (not an iphone cellphone internet though, because apple is awesome enough to put real internet in it)

    Maybe I need to upgrade to OSX...But I don't have enough hard drive to do that, I only have 6 GB of hard drive (4.88 GB when you take away all that is already being used).

    Wow. Sorry if this thread was stupid or whatever. But give me a break. This is like my second post so..yes...don't flame me! I burn easily.

    -Will
     
  2. Sly macrumors 6502

    Sly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Airstrip One
    #2
    IE should work fine on OS 9. Are you using the latest version which I seem to remember is 5.0. The old Clamshell iBook is never going to be lightening fast in comparison to a modern computer, particularly if you are a little short on RAM, don't forget that it was designed in an age when we all used dial up connections. You need at least 128MB to run OS 9 satisfactually. You may also have problems with some of the latest Flash type stuff, particularly with embedded adverts.
     
  3. xSOTYx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    I not long ago sold my iBook. I was running IE 5.0 which was awesome but as you said not all web pages come up good. I never tried myspace as I dislike the site but in terms of some sites I looked at with video etc They werent loading properly etc. I think its all due to the lanuages they are done with getting more advanced and with 5.0 etc being old it doesn't know who to read them.

    Miss my iBook lol!
     
  4. Quiara macrumors regular

    Quiara

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #4
    Why doesn't iCab run?

    I had a Blueberry clamshell (300MHz) with 10.2 on it. It was a little workhorse. I wouldn't suggest 10.4, obviously, but 10.2 was stable, responsive and functional - gives you access to later-date apps, too; doesn't take up as much room as later incarnations of X, either, and by doing a custom install (stripping excess languages and drivers) you can slim X down somewhat.
     
  5. prettyas3.14 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    Broadway (hehe I wish)
    #5
    Thanks everyone for the suggestions!

    Quiara: Okay, I tried to install icab when I first got my ibook, because I heard it is the best bet for a modern browser on a clamshell. At first, it worked beautifuly, it was smiling. And I love the cute little taxi in the corner. But once I got to myspace it turned sad and froze. Ever since then, everytime I try opening it, it tells me that I have a type 3 error. I think I need to reinstall it, but I being a complete idiot with os 9 (I never used it before, I am use to OS X) don't know how to uninstall something. :( lol I am rather stupid. So what I did was tried to download it again, and it came up as an "unknown file" So I am very confused with icab.

    xSOTYx: Aha! It all makes sense now! I am not to fond of myspace myself, however all of my friends flock to that site, and I can't get them to email me. =P so I got a myspace account. lol It isn't too big of a deal that myspace doensn't work cause I will just have to forse my friends to learn my e-mail adress. =P Thanks.

    Sly: I have 320 mb of RAM installed onto my computer, so I guess it is going way faster than it is used to, so that would kinda make sense..Thanks! ^.^

    Okay, wow thanks to EVERYONE! =]] I am not a very savvy mac user as you can tell. Well, actually i am not a savvy computer user in general, =] thanks again!

    -Will
     
  6. aldalric macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #6
    Tangerine Clamshell and Tiger

    I have an Tan. Clam. and I've used that Xpost hack to get Tiger into it. It has a 20 gig HD and about 192 meg ram... all of this should be cheap on ebay...

    I just use it for web surfing and e-mail sending... and starry night software in the field... (if I drop it some night while looking through my telescope, I really won't worry...)

    Dashboard works fine with weather and starry night widget

    It's a little slow, but it's not like I need speed right then...

    It's a great little workhorse...

    :)
     
  7. CubeHacker macrumors 65816

    CubeHacker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #7
    I would recommend you format the hard drive and install OS X 10.3 Panther. It'll run decently fast, give you access to a good browser, and it'll only take up about 1.5gb (turn off extra languages, printer drivers, unnecessary apps, etc). Since you have 320mb of RAM, it should run decently as long as you don't open too many apps at once.
     
  8. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

    CRAZYBUBBA

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Houston
    #8
    No offense, but this guy is wrong. My imac was os 9 before it was osx and it didn't load alot of sites. Jaguar fixed all that.

     

Share This Page