Classic environment no longer supported

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lools, Aug 24, 2014.

  1. lools macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    #1
    Hi guys. Mac beginner here who's trying to play some really old games that I just to play as a kid. The moment I put the game in and try to start it this message pops up. I've tried reading about it on this forum but could not fully understand what I have to do.
    I'm currently using a macbook, 3 years old (if that's helpful to know) and the game is about 14-15 years old however compatible for mac.
    I looked up some system req for this game and again not sure if this will be helpful but here it is.
    Macintosh Power PC; 12 MB RAM, 20 MB på harddrive; System 7.1; 640 x 480 pixel color screen (thousands color); CD-ROM-player with double speed.

    Do I have to completely change my systems for my macbook in order to do this or how far will I need to go to open the games?
     
  2. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #2
    The only way would be an older Mac. Classic hasn’t been supported for years (I think since 2001) and I don’t know if there is a way to get it working on any Intel system. The game you are talking about might not even run on OS9 which is the very last OS you could run in Classic OS.

    There is no OS that your computer could run (it would have to be Tiger and on a different platform) to run Classic and even then there is no guarantee the game would work.
     
  3. MAH11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    #3
    Try a Mac Emulator

    You should be able to play the game on a Mac emulator. I needed to run a very old Mac program, Claris CAD, on Mavericks. I installed BasiliskII rather easily, and everything worked fine. I think I downloaded it from http://basilisk.cebix.net.

    Melissa
     
  4. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #4
    I honestly forgot about Basilisk, however it should be pointed out that you do need a copy of MacOs and ROM. I think the OS is freely available still, but I have no idea how to legally get the ROM
     

Share This Page