Classic Environment

Discussion in 'iMac' started by prmccarron, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. prmccarron macrumors regular

    prmccarron

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    #1
    Hi,
    Okay, well my little sister is only 4 but is starting to use the computer. I have a bunch of old games from when I was young, but most of them were for OS 8-9. When I try to run them, Classic tries to open but because I never had OS 9 installed it won't work. Is there anything I can download for these to work?
    For those who can't read my sig, I'm running Tiger on a PPC G4.
     
  2. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    you ned OS9 if you want to play os9 games
    so get a os9 disc and install it in classic
    but be warned not all os8 or os9 games will run in classic
     
  3. prmccarron thread starter macrumors regular

    prmccarron

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    #3
    How do I do that? I don't have the OS 9 disk, and even if I did wouldn't it install over tiger? Are there any guts on this?

    Sorry I meant tuts not guts.
     
  4. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    you have to buy a os9 disc , there is no other way if you want to use classic (yours cant boot into os9 direct )
    classic mode is nothing else then running OS9 within OSX as a app like any other , so it opens in a window

    for how to , read this article it explains it quiet better then i can
    http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-10331436-263.html

    the other thing for the money you still pay for OS9, you nearly get a iMac g3 which should come with osx and os9 and can boot into os9 direct ,thats one reason ,why the Imac g3's are still so popular among people who want to play os9 games or as kids computers
    (there are hundreds of games out there for os9) so the young ones(and not only the young ) can play for hours on end

    ideal for girlies is the strawberry (pinkish color) 450mhz dv model as it has a dvd drive, so she can watch dvd's too, if the big brother doesnt use it for himself all time

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #5
    Is that an eMac you're running?

    In that case, from the eMac early 2004 manual:

     
  6. Ecoh macrumors 6502a

    Ecoh

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    A while ago I needed to install a new hard drive in my fathers old Power PC that had a hard disk crash. He cold not find his install disks and had to have OS 9. We ended up buying an old Mac that came with install disks on eBay. Only $25.00. We told the seller we didn't want the whole machine, just the install disk, so we saved on shipping. A lot less than buying new install disk from Apple.
     
  7. raysfan81 macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    It would be nice to clarify which computer you are running. I am assuming its an eMac, but there were many Apple computers with the G4. :D
     
  8. prmccarron thread starter macrumors regular

    prmccarron

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    #8
    Sorry lol. It's an iMac
     
  9. raysfan81 macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    Okay sweet an iMac g4 1.25ghz. Nice :D I actually wish I had the 20" one. Okay, like machamster said you might want to try and find a g3 that can boot directly into Os 9 to try and prevent any problems you were having in classic mode.
     
  10. prmccarron thread starter macrumors regular

    prmccarron

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    #10

    I would, because even if running 9 I think th G3 is cool, but that's out of the question right now :(
     

Share This Page