Classic MBP a good buy? or current MB??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GeorgeD, Jan 14, 2009.

1. GeorgeD macrumors member

I was actually planning to buy the current MB today but after some thought, I decided to consider the Classic MBP again. Should I really be worried about the "faulty GPU"? As a college student, I am going to be using my laptop for internet, papers, FCE, and maybe some gaming. Any help is appreciated!!!! =)

2. Hrududu macrumors 68020

Hrududu

My sister got one of the 2.5GHz previous gen MBP's a few months ago, and its a screamer. It feels a good bit quicker than my 2.16GHz anyhow. Apple has admitted the GPU's are faulty, and buying Applecare should be a no-brainer no matter which portable you get. I've not used a current MacBook, but if you're into the larger screen I'd definitely say its a great option. If it were me, I'd go with the Pro any day.

3. GeorgeD thread starter macrumors member

is it safe to say the Classic MBP would last me 4 years? Or is it safer to say the current MB would last that long?

4. clyde2801 macrumors 601

clyde2801

It would help to know what you're using it for....:rolleyes:

5. GeorgeD thread starter macrumors member

i did

6. GeorgeD thread starter macrumors member

there is also a chance i will be using it to record samples of music with pro tools or logic

7. clyde2801 macrumors 601

clyde2801

Oh. :eek: It still depends on how much of a need for speed you have. Maybe three or four years.

8. MidwestStuck macrumors member

The new MBPs also have reported problems with their GPUs. I have an early 2008 MBP, and it's worked pretty well so far (except a slight scrolling distortion problem that I'm gonna have checked at my local Apple Store tomorrow). Keep in mind that the older MBP models have FireWire 400 and DVI ports.

9. Cave Man macrumors 604

Cave Man