Classic now gone FOREVER

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iMacZealot, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #1
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303137

    ^^^
    Classic is discontinued in 10.5 for the PowerPC. I didn't know a thing about it until I read that.

    It's a bit sad, considering that I use Classic on my G5 here from time to time and now am relegated to using my G3 for this.

    On the flipside, Classic is old, and is becoming a less frequently used feature for most sane people unlike myself.
     
  2. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #2
    Old news but still sad in a way. Still I am tempted to install Mac OS 8 or 9 on my G3 Powerbook just so I can play some old classic games at full speed (SimCity 2000 here I come!).
     
  3. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  4. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #4
    I a bit sad about this. I think it is a bit silly they had to discontinue it.

    I've been starting up classic mode on my Pbook inside OS X the past couple days just to say goodbye to classic.

    I actually never used OS 9 (I had left mac back in system 7 days), but I still feel sad that now I can never fire up old classic and see the old days. :)
     
  5. Clydefrog macrumors 6502a

    Clydefrog

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh,PA
    #5
    FFFFFFOOOOOOORRRREEEEVVVVVVEEERRRRRRRR FFFFFFFFOOOOORRRRRREEEEEVVVVVERRRRR


    sandlot :cool:
     
  6. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #6
    Classic on OSX was always painful for me, it never ran all that good.
     
  7. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #7
    On the later machines, I found it did a pretty good job. Of course, by then, people had stopped using it. :)
     
  8. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #8
    Yeah, I searched, but the only results were either threads about the iPod Classic or threads about Classic (the emulator) that were written in the Puma era.

    I guess I'm lucky that I still have two iMac G3's lying around.
     
  9. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    When did you come to that realization?

    I don't think it's insane to still use Classic. I do, however, think it should be used on it's own hardware rather than as a "mode" of Mac OS X.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  11. Patrickool93 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Willowick, Ohio
    #12
    /me cuts self in sadness.


    Well, not really. I have about 5 various 68ks and Early PPCs (and a Rev D. iMac) lying around.

    Still, an end of an era.
     
  12. bluefiberoptics macrumors regular

    bluefiberoptics

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    #13
    I think I can live without playing Sim Ant and Sim City in Classic. ;)
     
  13. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #14
    YES! I know that...but now Classic won't work at all in 10.5.
     
  14. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #15
    Ahhh Sim Ant! How could I forget that?

    What a game :).
     
  15. chrisgeleven macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    #16
    Practically no one uses classic anymore. Just not worth the effort by Apple to keep it working.

    It isn't silly at all. Just makes sense.
     
  16. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #17
    How about Oregon Trail? Ah, I remember playing that in grade school computer class back when our school had shiny new Performas with *OS 8!*
     
  17. Angrist macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #18
    Eh, I never liked the way classic ran on my machines. If I really need/want an old OS9 program, I'll just boot directly into 9.
     
  18. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #19
    It always worked best that way on my G3's, but Classic wasn't too sluggish on my G5. (not that I can boot into OS 9 on my G5, but Classic was more satisfactory on my G5 than on my G3.)
     
  19. DanB91 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
  20. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #21
    And improved. I have found it to be too buggy to use effectively.

    Personally, I use Classic a lot so I will probably not upgrade those computers to Leopard.

    On the ones that don't support Classic under Tiger, I will put Leopard on them.
     
  21. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #22
    Good riddance. It's an old OS and it's about time it's fazed out. Bring on the Leopard. Yipee.
     
  22. shemp9999 macrumors regular

    shemp9999

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    #23
    I can't remember the last time i used classic. years have gone by.

    last week i used one of my apple discounts to help a friend upgrade to a new 20" imac from OS 9 on a Graphite iMac. that thing took well over two minutes to boot. remember that?

    the imac came with 1-.4.x. i'm not sure if i should have him upgrade to leopard right away (eligible under mac up-to-date).

    i think Tiger is the best Mac OS since System 7.6.1.
     
  23. GeeYouEye macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #24
    Dammit, I was hoping that it was just a bug in the Leopard dev seed.

    I'm going to have to think long and hard about whether or not I should upgrade. I play all the classic Sim- games every so often, as well as Total Annihilation and the old Marathon games. It's a big reason I haven't bought a MacBook Pro yet. Perhaps an external drive with Tiger and Classic on it is in order.
     
  24. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #25
    If you upgrade a PPC machine that has Classic OS 9 installed it preserves the ability to boot into OS 9 on startup. I do miss that little Classic OS icon on the menubar even though I rarely ever used it. I did run my Bungie classic apps occasionally.
     

Share This Page