Classic on Intel from external drive.. yes???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mufngruf, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. mufngruf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #1
    OK, so I plumped for a big glossy 24" iMac and THEN discovered that it won't run Classic apps. I don't have many that I cling to - actually it's mainly for Claris Home page (still the best WYSIWIG webeditor) and a wonderful old game called "War of Flowers".
    So my question is.. without going the emulator route my choices would appear to be to keep an old mac running tiger or just straight os9.2 to do my editing on or install os9.2 on an external drive.
    Will the imac boot from an external in 9.2 and then run the programs - a relatively minor inconvenience?
    If I keep another mac with 9.2 as it's base system, will the imac network with it and thus allow me to use the programs - or will I also need to keep a second monitor to use the other mac?
    Any other suggestions?
    thanks for the help
     
  2. 007bond macrumors 6502a

    007bond

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
    #2
    you know that was released in 1996 right. why dont you use filemaker pro? and why would you want to run something that old on a new mac anyway?
     
  3. mufngruf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #3
    I have a new stove but still like the old dishes...

    Why/how would I use Filemaker to edit webpages?
     
  4. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    Intel Macs can't run 9.2 (Classic), can't run the programs, or boot up from a HDD that is formatted for the PPC Macs.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Classic mode ended with Leopard. You'll need to learn to use a different WYSIWYG program. Try RapidWeaver, Dreamweaver, or ::shudder:: iWeb.
     
  6. mufngruf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #6
    can they be networked together

    Through ethernet, can I work on another mac running 9.2 from the imac without having to use a second monitor?
     
  7. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    You can network anything just fine even through wireless (or ethernet) but you can't run any of the programs on the other Mac. You can open documents that you also have the non-classic version on your iMac but nothing from classic that has no Intel equivalent.

    Unless you are asking if you can use the iMac as your monitor for your PPC Mac in which case no.
     
  8. mufngruf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #8
    now I'm thouroughly confused..

     
  9. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    That should be fine. The documents that have an Intel equivalent will run. You can't run the programs on the iMac that are on the Classic machine though. Of course if you have an external drive just get all the documents you want off of it and not deal with classic anymore.
     
  10. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #10
    I assume the Claris program just outputs an html file, so any web browser should be able to read it.
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    i am not certain about booting from an external HD, i have never tried it.

    you COULD remote into the os9 computer via VNC, but i have never found any VNC servers that can actually run the computer properly, it constantly drops out on me.

    networking is easy..

    i MUCH much much prefer using an emulator, with an intel mac you would hardly notice a slow down between the old classic Mac and the emulation. another advantage is that the emulator HD pops up on the desktop if you want it to :) easy to swap files :)
     
  12. mufngruf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #12
    virtually emulating already...

    Ok, so maybe I was a little hasty about emulators - I'm just so technophobic that i assumed the entire process would be too daunting...
    can you give me an EASY run through on how?
    I really appreciate all the help and a happy easter to you all.
     
  13. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    sure i could, do you want me to PM it to you?
     
  14. mufngruf thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #14
    absabloominlutely

    and I thank you dearly.. but PLEASE make it simple
     
  15. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    PM sent!
     
  16. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #16
    Would you mind sending me the PM too? I'd like my mom to be able to use some of her old Adobe Illustrator documents when she switches to a new computer.
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    HAPPY EASTER (it is here anyway)

    yup i sure can do that, is it ok if i send it after i go to work???
     
  18. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #18
    No rush. :)
     
  19. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    PM sent :)
     

Share This Page