Clean Install (Guidance)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by PS65, Aug 16, 2011.

1. PS65 macrumors 6502

I have my original Late 2008 Macbook Pro and it hasn't been formatted since.

Having recently upgraded to Lion, I personally feel it is a little slower, possibly due to heavy disk fragmentation, thus I have decided to carry out a clean install of Lion.

However...! I have tried searching for some guidance on the exact procedure, but it gets a little complicated on the following questions:

1. If, say, I realised I forgot a precious document and assuming I have backed up using Time Machine before my format, could I pull off a specific item/folder through Time Machine post my format?

2. Are there any files (other than the typical Music, Photos, Documents) that are hidden which I should really consider?

3. Does anybody know of any good guides/tips I should read before doing this? I have tried searching, but clearly I am not very good at finding content?!

Thanks for your help!!! :)

2. Mac Skeleton macrumors newbie

Hey PS65,

A fresh install is not always the solution, but often times it is a great way to get rid of any corruption or other issues without a doubt.

Now you mention disk fragmentation. You can use a software application such as iDefrag http://www.coriolis-systems.com/iDefrag.php
    to defrag your hard drive or at least to better understand and see if it is indeed actually heavily fragmented.

Secondly, if you do proceed to do a clean install and there are files that you realize post fresh install you needed, you can surely grab them off of your time machine back up. Time machine is great for the overall convenience and user friendliness, but it does NOT capture EVERY single detail. You may often time have to reenter serial numbers of programs etc.