Clean Install/Migration of iTunes content?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by wolfenkraft, Jul 27, 2011.

1. wolfenkraft macrumors regular

Hey all,

I've really appreciated the help and community of macrumors over the years. I think this is my first time actually asking a question though so let's see how this goes. :)

I have a 2008 uMB, I ordered an ultimate 11" mba.

My uMB is currently being backed up with TM, except for my iTunes library which is stored on the same external drive, just in a separate folder. As a developer, I've installed all manner of things on my computer over the years. As I've upgraded from mac to mac, I've just used the migration assistant and copied over everything whole-hog.

Here's what I want to do: Keep my mba as pristine as possible. I essentially want to do a clean install, but I want to migrate over my iTunes content so my iOS devices will keep syncing without a hiccup, I REALLY don't want to lose my app data and settings for my iPhone and iPad. I also want the ability to just migrate over certain other things like my documents and only some of my apps.

Any ideas? Thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

2. Detrius macrumors 68000

When you say "only some of my apps", things have the potential of being horrifically complex. Any drag-n-drop app you can copy, but if it had an installer, you'll want to reinstall.

You'll still have an iTunes folder inside the Music folder in your home directory, and that's going to have references to the files on your external HD. Move the iTunes folder over and connect the external hard drive. Then configure iTunes to use your internal drive for media storage, and consolidate the library.

3. wolfenkraft thread starter macrumors regular

Maybe I'm not being fully clear in what I'm looking for. Some vs. all of the apps, I can deal with getting all the apps, I'll just use AppZapper or something.