Clean install Mountain Lion-Mavericks

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ACEVindi, Apr 20, 2014.

1. ACEVindi macrumors newbie

Hello guys!
    I will get 2012 rMPB 13" in few days.This is my first Apple computer, and im familiar with it just as same as i am with agriculture in Ruanda, so, not much :D
    Computer is almost new, used just a few months, and it comes preinstalled with Mountain Lion and some applications.
    Are there any nice souls that can explain me how to delete everything and create fresh install (and then update to Maverics)?
    If there are, thank you a bunch :) Bare in mind that im a newbie, so as much details as possible lol

Thanks!

----------

Also, completely unrelated to topic (sorry mod's), does anybody have any good advices/links/things to pay attention to for new Mac users?

2. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

3. ACEVindi thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you!
    Will the software that comes bundles with Mountain Lion be included in Mavericks (i mean Apple software, not 3rd party aps)?

4. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

Do you mean iwork and ilife apps? These are separate downloads in the mac app store, not part of mavericks itself.

So if you still want to do a clean install, you can do it the way I said and then download these apps later.

But must you do a clean install? If not, you can skip the bit about formatting with disk utility. Just install mavericks over the top of mountain lion and keep the bundled apps without having to download and install them again. That would be easier.

Another possibilty is migration assistant. Before doing the clean install of mavericks, do a time machine backup, then migrate the bundled apps you want over again after upgrading.

5. Felasco Guest

Given that you are a newbie, I would suggest doing nothing for now.

Explore what you've got, and see how it works for you. If you find what you have does what you want to do, there is no compelling reason to upgrade.