Clean Install Question (Please Help)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sjc83, Jul 22, 2015.

  1. sjc83 macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #1
    So my iPhone uses TONS AND TONS data, been to the Apple Store and Verzion many times, a clean install is my last resort. How do I do this, I want to wipe everything and download a fresh copy of iOS, please help.


    Sam C.
     
  2. techspin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #2
    Go to settings, general, reset, erase all content and settings. Then set it up as a new phone. If you're concerned iOS has been corrupted somehow you can also put your phone in DFU mode and use iTunes to restore the firmware.
     
  3. sjc83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #3
    Yes I am concerned, how do you put the phone in DFU mode?
     
  4. techspin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #4
    Plug into iTunes, press and hold the power button and home button for about 10 seconds (or til your computer makes the usb disconnect noise), then let the power button go and keep holding the home button for approximately 5 seconds. iTunes should detect your phone in DFU mode and take it from there.
     
  5. sjc83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #5
    and will it automatically install a fresh version of iOs?
     
  6. sjc83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #7
    After I did all that, then did a restore from iCloud would be wise or would it no longer be "fresh" install.
     
  7. Shadowbech macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Planet iPhone
    #8
    If you are restoring from iCloud that would not be a fresh install as it is restoring a back up.
     
  8. techspin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #9
    Well, you could restore from a backup and see if your problem has been resolved to save the trouble of setting everything up again. No idea if whatever caused the problem may be included in your backup files/settings. Did you check your background refresh settings and your cellular data usage?
     
  9. sjc83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #10
    Yes still oddly high
     
  10. sjc83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #11
    I'm using on average 1 gig a day even when connected to wifi most of the time.
     
  11. adamhenry macrumors 68000

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #12

    Which App is using the data?
     
  12. sjc83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #13
    No idea most of the time it's happens when I sleeping.
     
  13. jca24 macrumors 6502a

    jca24

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    DFW
  14. adamhenry macrumors 68000

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #15

    Go to Settings> Cellular Scroll down and you can see the amount of data usage for each App.
     
  15. sjc83 thread starter macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland

Share This Page