Clean ML install required?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Homer Jay, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. Homer Jay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    #1
    I just recently did a clean install of lion on my MBA and iMac. Some of the new ML features intrigue me. Not sure I want to install all my apps again. Is a clean install necessary for the best performance? How would it be done? Same as a clean Lion install or do I have to save the ML program somewhere first? Thanks.
     
  2. jji7skyline macrumors 6502

    jji7skyline

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #2
    It's not neccesary, especially if you did a clean install for Lion, although it's recommended if you're having problems with your current installation.
     
  3. bzollinger macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #3
    I did an in-place up with no issues yet except that Parallels 6 doesn't work...other than that so far so good!
     
  4. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #4
    I upgraded from the DP4, and I clean installed. DP4 was pretty buggy.
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    A departure form my usual routine of clean installation, I have just finished installs on all 3 of my Macs. All running perfectly, and boy did it save me a lot of work.
     
  6. Fernandez21 macrumors 601

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #6
    i did a clean install, I just prefer it. On my MBA after I did the upgrade, it also upgraded my recovery partition. So I just did a clean install from that.
     
  7. Homer Jay thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

Share This Page