Clean OS X Reinstall

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by sasha.danielle, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. sasha.danielle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #1
    I've been on the phone with Apple care about the lag on my machine when scrolling web and documents. The woman seemed pretty sure it would be fixed with complete wipe and reinstall. Has this worked for anyone?

    I've already tried a reinstall without a wipe and it didn't do anything...
     
  2. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
  3. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #3
    Pages & Word. I don't really know if it affects Numbers as my sheets are only ever tiny ones.
     
  4. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #4
    Not convinced that`s a good solution, MS Word can stutter even on far more powerful systems. Much is going to depends on the content of the document; imagery etc. The documents I create/use are generally complex by nature, a basic word text document is normally ok.

    I don't see any lag on my 1.2 MacBook with Safari. I would try fixing permissions from "Recovery" first, reapply 10.10.3 Combo etc. Personally I would try a few other avenues prior to "blasting" the entire system. Did you set up from new, or migrate. I have seen some posts from house that migrated from another Mac have similar issues.

    n.b. MS Office 2011 is just updating to 14.5.2 if any better I will post.

    Q-6
     
  5. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #5
    I set up from new. I've already fixed permissions. I kind of expected Word to be laggy, but Pages is pretty bad too, which is inexcusable.
     
  6. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #6
    Don't use pages unless it`s for very light quick stuff, so can't really comment. If I open any of the heavyweight MS Word docs Pages tends to choke irrespective of the system. I`ll try some of my Wife`s work as she tends to use Pages far more.

    Q-6
     
  7. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #7
    Thanks Q-6!
     
  8. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #8
    Pages looks ok to me, equally these are not overly complex documents; imagery, text boxes, tables, nor are they lengthy.

    Q-6
     
  9. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #9
    Neither are mine. I'm a writer, so it's just text. Which unit does your wife have?
     
  10. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #10
    15" rMBP :) I just "lifted" one of her documents to try on the rMB. I`ll try again later with the same Pages document and directly compare the rMB to my rMB & 13" rMBP (2014 2.8), as the MacBook is busy right now,so and comparison would be skewed.

    Scrolling of basic text should be a none issue on any modern day Mac

    Q-6
     
  11. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    I often use Pages in my 13" rMBP and have no lag at all. No problems with Safari either.

    What year/model machine are you using?

    Try holding the shift key at boot to startup in safe mode and see if that helps. Safe mode bypasses any login or startup items to eliminate that as the problem.
     
  13. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #13
    It still does it in safe mo
    It still does it in safe mode. It's a rMB 1.1.
     
  14. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #14
    If it still does it in safe mode, then a clean install is very unlikely to change things.

    When this is happening, can you look in Activity monitor at both the memory tab and the CPU tab. See if the memory section at the bottom is all green indicating there is enough memory. Also see if any apps or processes are using high CU cycles.
     
  15. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #15
    So looking at the same Pages document on 1.2 rMB & 2.8 rMBP with Intel`s Power Gadget the MacBook can spike as high as 2.3GHz @ 8.5W and the MacBook Pro 3GHz @ 18W

    Looking at these numbers I can see the 1.1 may have more issue keeping up, as likely it will run out of "headroom" faster than the 1.2 or 1.3 rMB. Given Pages is utilising multicores @ up to 100% of CPU, max Turbo Boost of 2.4GHZ will be capped at a lower frequency. This should not be considered indicative as the document is graphically heavy and simply what I have to hand outside of the default templates.

    Depending on the complexity of the document, some "chop" would not surprise, nor may it be isolated to Pages, given OS X is way overdue an overhaul aka 10.11.

    Q-6
     
  16. sasha.danielle thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #16
    So a clean install did nothing. I've since replaced the machine. Same thing.
     
  17. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #17
    Your choices are pretty much limited, live with the 1.1 Retina Macbook and see what 10.11 brings, upgrade to 1.2/1.3 or change it for a 13" MacBook Pro, equally even that will not fix MS Word depending on how sensitive you are to lag. My own work can stutter slightly on the rMBP`s due the complexity and heavy usage of imagery.

    I am on my 13" Retina now, loading "The Verge" and comparing it directly with my 12" Retina there is no difference in the scrolling of the webpage, both are smooth & fluid with OS X display settings being mirrored.

    Have you turned on Filevault 2 on the rMB?
    Are you running AV on the rMB?
    Are you using Chrome on the rMB?


    Q-6
     

Share This Page